To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Matthew Friday Street with St Peter Cheap, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Matthew Friday Street with St Peter Cheap

London St Matthew Friday Street with St Peter Cheap ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Matthew Friday Street with St Peter Cheap, London
Londonstmathewsfridaystreet.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1813; Separate registers exist for St Peter Westcheap beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665-66; 1800; Separate records exist for St Peter Westcheap beginning 1629-31; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division) and Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

"St Matthew Friday Street with St Peter Cheap, the church of, is situated on the west side of the street, a short distance from Cheapside. The patronage of this church was anciently in the Abbot and Convent of Westminster, and upon their suppression, when the conventual church w asconverted into a cathedral, Henry VIII conferred it on the Bishop of Westminster; but on the dissolution of that new bishopric, Edward VI granted it to the Bishop of London in whom the advowson still continues.

"The old church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and the presnet plain, sold and useful structure erected in its stead by Sir Christopher Wren, in 1685. At the union of the small parishes of the city with the larger, that of St Peter Cheap, which stood at the corner of the Wood Street, Cheapside, was united to this. The patronage of St Peter's was granted by the crown after the Reformation, to private hands.

"The united parishes form one rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the laternate patronage of the Bishop of London and the Duke of Buccleugh."[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Matthew Friday Street united with St Peter Cheap Parish.[2]

1848 parish description
St. Matthew, Friday-street
, with St. Peter, Westcheap are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is, the Bishop, and the Duke of Buccleuch, alternately. [3]

St Matthew Friday Street and St Peter Cheap parishes were part of Bread Street Ward.

St Peter Cheap Parish was also known as St Peter Westcheap Parish, as well as St Peter West Cheap Parish. The building has been demolished.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Matthew Friday Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Matthew Friday Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1538-1846
FMP Bur



1538-1812
ANC 1 1800-1811 1800-1811 1800-1811 1800-1811 1800-1811 1800-1811
ANC 2 1813-1891 1813-1891 1800-1852 1800-1852 1813-1852 1813-1852
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1812, 1813-1873
1538-1836


FS Catalog PRs
1547-1837, 1813-1882
1547-1837, 1813-1882
1547-1837, 1813-1882
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1855, 1665-1666
1629-1855, 1665-1666
1629-1855, 1665-1666

St Peter Cheap parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Peter Cheap Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1629-1846
FMP Bur



1539-1812
ANC 1 1540-1597, 1629-1630, 1800-1811 1540-1597, 1629-1630, 1800-1811 1540-1597, 1629-1630, 1800-1811 1540-1597, 1629-1630, 1800-1811 1540-1597, 1629-1630, 1800-1811 1540-1597, 1629-1630, 1800-1811
ANC 2 1813-1833, 1852-1886 1813-1833, 1852-1886 1815-1836 1815-1836 1813-1821, 1842-1853 1813-1821, 1842-1853
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1598, 1813-1870
1538-1836


FS Catalog PRs
1435-1836
1435-1836
1435-1836
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1631, 1800-1855
1800-1836
1800-1852

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Publications of the Harleian Society Parish Register Series published the parish registers as follows:

  • St Matthew Friday Street 1538-1812
  • United parishes of St Matthew and St Peter Cheap marriages 1754-1812[12]

Census records[edit | edit source]

St Mary le Bow.png

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Matthew, Friday Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Matthew, Friday Street, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Peter, Westcheap, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Peter, Westcheap, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Peter, Westcheap, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidies[edit | edit source]

  • St Peter, Westcheap, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Matthew, Friday Street, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Peter, Westcheap, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Peter, Westcheap and St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Matthew, Friday Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1589 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Books Online

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Matthew, Friday Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Peter, Westcheap, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Peter, Westcheap, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/555); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Peter, Westcheap, Cripplegate Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 5); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1645-1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Peter, Westcheap, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 2); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1667 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

  • St Peter, Westcheap, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]

(see supplements for St Peter Cheap residents) 

1831 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1831 Census exists for both places.[13]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Matthew Friday Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. St Peter Cheap fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Peter Cheap residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[14] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Peter Cheap churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Matthew Friday Street with St Peter Cheap, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[15]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Peter Cheap churchyard.[16]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Peter Westcheap Parish the unique surname Westcheap.[17]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Peter, Westcheap
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Matthew Friday Street

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:28.
  13. Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 73.
  14. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  15. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  16. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  17. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.