To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Mary le Bow and St Pancras Soper Lane with All Hallows Honey Lane, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Mary le Bow and St Pancras Soper Lane with All Hallows Honey Lane

London St Mary le Bow and St Pancras Soper Lane with All Hallows Honey Lane ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary le Bow and St Pancras Soper Lane with All Hallows Honey Lane, London
StMaryLeBowChurch.jpg
St Mary le Bow
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for St Pancras Soper Lane beginning 1538-1698, 1813 and for All Hallows Honey Lane beginning 1538-1697, 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799; Separate records exist for St Pancras Soper Lane beginning 1817 and for All Hallows Honey Lane beginning 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham and Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Pancras Soper Lane church site
St Mary le Bow drawing (1837)

'St Mary le Bow and St Pancras Soper Lane with All Hallows Honey Lane, the church of, is situated on the south side of Cheapside, at the corners of Bow Lane and [St Mary le] Bow Churchyard. it is dedicated to the Virgin Mary and derives its addition from being the first church built in London upon the arches, and called Bows. it was founded before the reign of William the Norman [Conqueror] and was first called New Mary Church, but afterwards received the epithet of De Arcubus, or Le Bow, in Westcheap.'[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), All Hallows Honey Lane Parish united with St Mary-le-Bow and St Pancras Soper Lane Parish.[2]


1848 parish description[edit | edit source]


St. Mary-le-Bow, with Allhallows, Honey-lane and St. Pancras, Soper-lane are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Archbishop of Canterbury two turns, and the Grocers’ Company one. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]


St Mary le Bow belonged to Cordwainer Ward.


All Hallows Honey Lane was also spelled 'Allhallows' Honey Lane.


St Pancras Soper Lane Parish Church has been demolished.

Church records[edit | edit source]

All Hallows Honey Lane parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[11]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[12]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
All Hallows Honey Lane Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ARCHIVE
1538-1837
1546-1836
1538-1851
FMP



1538-1851
FMP Bur



1294-1847
ANC 1 1538-1697 1538-1697 1538-1697 1538-1697 1538-1697 1538-1697
ANC 2

1830-1834 1830-1834 1814-1851 1814-1851
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1530-1837
1538-1837
1538-1852
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1837
1546-1836


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1892, 1800-1801
1538-1892, 1800-1801
1538-1892, 1800-1801
FS Catalog BTs
1817-1856
1818-1836
1818-1845

St Mary le Bow parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Mary le Bow Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ARCHIVE
1538-1837
1538-1837
1538-1852
FMP

1539-1837
1754-1852
FMP Bur



1538-1849
ANC 1 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
ANC 2 1814-1916 1814-1916 1754-1931 1754-1931 1813-1883 1813-1883
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1530-1837
1538-1837
1538-1852
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1837
1538-1836


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1992
1538-1992
1538-1992
FS Catalog BTs
1817-1867
1817-1867
1817-1867

St Pancras Soper Lane parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Pancras Soper Lane Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ARCHIVE
1538-1837
1538-1836
1538-1849
FMP

1829-1829
1538-1849
FMP Bur



1292-1845
ANC 1 1538-1698 1538-1698 1538-1698 1538-1698 1538-1698 1538-1698
ANC 2 1817-1836 1817-1836 1819-1835 1819-1835 1813-1849 1813-1849
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1530-1837
1538-1837
1538-1852
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1837
1538-1836


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1889
1538-1889
1538-1889
FS Catalog BTs
1817-1858
1818-1836
1818-1849

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Mary le Bow.png

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • All Hallows, Honey Lane, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary le Bow, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary le Bow, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Pancras, Soper Lane, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary le Bow, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • All Hallows, Honey Lane, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Pancras, Soper Lane, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary le Bow, Cordwainer Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Pancras, Soper Lane and St Benet Sherehog, Cordwainer Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1623 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary le Bow, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 2 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1638 Tithes[edit | edit source]

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1641 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary le Bow, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/572); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Pancras, Soper Lane, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/572); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1642 War Loans Tax[edit | edit source]

1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary le Bow, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/585); copy: FHL Film 2228705.
  • St Pancras, Soper Lane, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/584); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1666 Destroyed Houses[edit | edit source]

1678 Poll Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1692 Poll Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1693 Poll Tax[edit | edit source]

1694 Poll Tax[edit | edit source]

1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]

(see supplements for St Pancras Soper Lane residents) 

1695 Marriage Duty Act Tax[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering All Hallows Honey Lane Parish are available online.


Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, St Mary le Bow and St Pancras Soper Lane with All Hallows Honey Lane, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London and the Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, Shoreham. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Mary le Bow churchyard

Transcripts of early St Mary le Bow and St Pancras Soper Lane with All Hallows Honey Lane, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

A survey of St Mary le Bow monumental inscriptions made in 1858 is available on microfilm FHL Film 1751571 Item 4.

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

The School of Advanced Study, University of London has uploaded abstracts of the following records, which are available for free online:

  • All Hallows Honey Lane Churchwarden Accounts 1672
  • All Hallows Honey Lane Churchwarden Lists 1563 to 1593
  • All Hallows Honey Lane Churchwardens 1631 to 1659
  • St Pancras Soper Lane Assessments 1628 to 1642

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Pancras, Soper Lane
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary le Bow
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: All Hallows Honey Lane

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 26 October 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.