To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard

London St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard, London
StMaryAtHill London.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for St Mary at Hill beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Andrew Hubbard beginning 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London and Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Andrew Hubbard Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London
  • 1666 - never rebuilt; united with St Mary at Hill Parish[1]

St Mary at Hill Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1100s - parish created
  • 1666 - church badly damaged by Great Fire of London
  • 1666 - church rebuilt; united with St Andrew Hubbard Parish[1]
  • 1988 - fire damaged church; rebuilt

1831 description[edit | edit source]

'St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard, the churh of, is situated on the west side of St Mary's Hill, Lower Thames Street, and is so named from its situation. It is called in ancient records St Maria ad Montem. This church is of considerable antiquity, since a chantry was founded in it by Rose de Wrytell, in [about] 1330...and was rebuilt in 1497, and was much damaged by the great fire of 1666. After substantial repair, between the years 1672 and 1677, by Sir Christopher Wren, the parish of St Andrew Hubbard was united to it by act of parliament. [see that church]

'The advowson of this church appears always to have been in private hands, till about the year 1638, when it was purchased by the parishioners, but since its union with the parish of St Andrew Hubbard, the patronage of which is in the Duke of Northumberland, and the parish and his Grace present alternately. It is a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London...'[2]

1848 description[edit | edit source]

St. Mary at Hill, with  St. Andrew Hubbard, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Duke of Northumberland, and the Parishioners, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Additional jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

These parishes belonged to Billingsgate Ward.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Mary at Hill and St Andrew Hubbard were originally two individual parishes. Each maintained separate parish registers.

St Andrew Hubbard parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Andrew Hubbard Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1639-1836
ANC 1 1538-1601, 1706-1790 1538-1601, 1706-1790 1538-1601, 1706-1790 1538-1601, 1706-1790 1538-1601, 1706-1790 1538-1601, 1706-1790
ANC 2 1813-1846 1813-1846 1813-1846 1813-1846 1813-1846 1813-1846
ANC Marr

1597-1921 1597-1921

ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1790, 1800-1837




FS Catalog PRs
1538-1846
1538-1846
1538-1846
FS Catalog BTs
1454-1712, 1639-1640, 1800-1812
1454-1712, 1639-1640, 1800-1812
1454-1712, 1639-1640, 1800-1812

St Mary at Hill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Mary at Hill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1811-1854
ANC 1 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1921 1754-1921 1813-1845 1813-1845
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1558-1812, 1813-1837
1558-1812, 1813-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1558-1850
1558-1850
1558-1850
FS Catalog BTs
1800-1837
1800-1837
1800-1837

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1850.[11]

  • Littlehales, Henry. The Medieval Records of a London City Church (St. Mary at Hill) A.D. 1420-1559. London: Early English Text Society, 1904. Digital version at Google Books.

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Mary at Hill.png

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary at Hill, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary at Hill, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Andrew Hubbard, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Andrew Hubbard, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • S. Andrew Hubbard (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.
  • St Mary at Hill, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Andrew Hubbard, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/563); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Mary at Hill, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/563); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Andrew Hubbard, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/591); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Mary at Hill, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/583); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Andrew Hubbard fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. St Mary at Hill fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Mary at Hill residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[12] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Mary at Hill churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Mary at Hill with St Andrew Hubbard, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Mary at Hill churchyard.[14]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary-at-Hill
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Andrew Hubbard

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  12. 'About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800', British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.