To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw

London St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw, London
Londonstmarywoolnothlombard.jpg
St Mary Woolnoth
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for St Mary Woolchurch beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639-40; 1665-66; 1801; Separate records exist for St Mary Woolchurch beginning 1629-31; 1639-40; 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London; Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Stmarywoolchurchhawsite.JPG

"St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw, the church of, stands at the northeast corner of Sherbourne Lane, Lombard Street. Its addition of Woolnoth is derived from being neath (since, by corruption, noth) or nigh to the Woolstaple. The ancient church was of some antiquity, as John de Norton is mentioned as being rector in 1335. From various circumstances, suchas the discovery of tusks and bones of animanls, remains of tesselated pavements, metal vessels, part of an aquaduct, and other Roman exviae, it has been surmised, that an ancient temple, probably that of Concord, stood upon its site. It was damaged at the time of the great fire of 1666, and was sufficiently repaired to last until the act passed in Queen Anne's reign to build fifty new churches, when the old church was taken down, and the present handsome substantial edifice built in its stead. The united parishes are a rectory in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London and in the patronage of the King, and J. Thornton, alternately."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Mary Woolnoth Parish united with St Mary Woolchurch Parish.[2]

1848 parish description
St. Mary Woolnoth, with St. Mary Woolchurch are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and J. Thornton, Esq., alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

St Mary Woolchurch Haw Parish was part of Walbrook Ward, while St Mary Woolnoth Parish was part of Langbourn Ward. The church of St Mary Woolchurch Haw has been demolished.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Mary Woolchurch Haw parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
GOOGLE = Google Books - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[11]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[12]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Mary Woolchurch Haw Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ARCHIVE
1558-1699, 1558-1699
1559-1666, 1559-1666
1558-1665, 1558-1665
GOOGLE
1558-1699
1559-1666
1558-1665
FMP



1754-1848
FMP Bur



1540-1760
ANC 1 1559-1665 1559-1665 1559-1665 1559-1665 1559-1665 1559-1665
ANC 2 1815-1831 1815-1831 1815-1837, 1853-1858 1815-1837, 1853-1858 1814-1837 1814-1837
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1558-1699
1559-1666
1394-1665
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1558-1699
1559-1666


FS Catalog PRs
1824-1860
1824-1860
1824-1860
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1640, 1801-1830
1629-1640, 1801-1830
1629-1640, 1801-1830

St Mary Woolnoth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Mary Woolnoth Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ARCHIVE
1538-1760, 1538-1760
1538-1754, 1538-1754
1538-1760, 1538-1760
GOOGLE
1538-1760
1538-1754
1538-1760
FMP



1754-1852
FMP Bur



1292-1760
ANC 1 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1928 1754-1928 1813-1848 1813-1848
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1538-1760
1538-1754
1538-1760
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1760, 1760-1814, 1770-1805,
1813-1830

1538-1754, 1755-1885


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1953
1538-1953
1538-1953
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1640, 1665-1667
1629-1640, 1665-1667
1629-1640, 1665-1667

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

Londonstmarywoolnothlombardstreet.jpg

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/144); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Woolchurch, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/147); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Woolnoth, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/217); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Woolchurch, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Woolchurch, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Woolnoth, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/223); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/485); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Mary Woolnoth, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702. Is St Mary, Fenchurch Street (also in Langbourn Ward) another name for St Mary Woolnoth?

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/545); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/564); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St. Mary Woolchurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 3 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St. Mary Woolnoth, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 3 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1641 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/568); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/601); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/581); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


1811 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1811 Census exists for both places.[13]

1821 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1821 Census exists for both places.[13]

1831 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1831 Census exists for both places.[13]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Mary Woolnoth fell under the jurisdiction of the Archdeaconry Court of London. St Mary Woolchurch Haw fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. In practice, many residents of St Mary Woolnoth left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[14] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Transcripts of early St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[15]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Mary Woolchurch Haw Parish the unique surname Woolchurch.[16]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Woolchurch Haw
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Woolnoth

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. 13.0 13.1 13.2 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68, 71, 73.
  14. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  15. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  16. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.