To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul

London St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul, London
Londonstmarymagdalenoldfishstreet.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for St Gregory by St Paul's beginning 1559 and for St Paul's Cathedral beginning 1697
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800-21; Separate records exist for St Gregory by St Paul's beginning 1813-21 and for St Paul's Cathedral beginning 1814-38
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Paul's Cathedral

St Gregory by St Paul Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1010 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed in Great Fire of London; never rebuilt; united with St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street Parish

St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1181 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed in Great Fire of London
  • 1683-1687 - church rebuilt; united with St Gregory by St Paul Parish
  • 1886 - church damaged by fire; demolished

1831 description
[edit | edit source]

'St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul, the church of, is situated on the north side of Knightrider Street at the west corner of the Old Change. Its name is derived from that of the saint to which it is dedicated, and its situation in the ancient fish market. This church was formerly a vicarage, in the tenure of the canons of St Paul's, so early as 1181; but for some centuries past, it has been a rectory in the gift of the minor canons of that cathedral. The old church was destroyed at the time of the great fire of 1666, as well as its neighbor St Gregory [by St Paul's] which is at the southwest corner of St Paul's Cathedral. This latter is a rectory of very ancient foundation, and took its name from Pope Gregory the Great, who sent St Austin the Monk to convert the English nation to Christianity. The church was rebuilt in 1685 by Sir Christopher Wren. The patronage of this church is also in the minor canons of St Paul's Churchyard, and the two parishes united by act of parliament.

'The united parishes are a rectory in the city of London, and exempt from archidiaconal visitation, the patrons being its ordinaries [no notable 'officials' or people belonged to the church].'[1]

'After obtaining Archbishop's licence from Doctors Commons couples often married at nearby churches such as St Benet Paul's Wharf, St Mary Magdalen Old Fish Street or St Gregory by St Pauls.'[2] St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street was a popular place to marry, even after the 1754 marriage act.[3] After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Gregory by St Paul Parish united with St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street Parish.[4]

St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street belonged to Castle Baynard Ward.

1848 parish description[edit | edit source]


St. Mary Magdalene, Old Fish-street with St. Gregory by St. Paul, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s. They are within the poor-law union of the City of London.[5]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Gregory by St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[6][7]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[8]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[9]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[10][11][12]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[13]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
St Gregory by St Paul Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1726-1821
FMP Bur



1559-1789
ANC 1 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812
ANC 2 1813-1874 1813-1874 1754-1867 1754-1867 1813-1852 1813-1852
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1559-1686, 1813-1821
1559-1709, 1813-1821


FS Catalog PRs
1559-1853
1559-1853
1559-1853

St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1540-1853
ANC 1 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812
ANC 2 1813-1892 1813-1892 1754-1886 1754-1886 1813-1851 1813-1851
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1757, 1757-1812, 1813-1874
1538-1754, 1754-1885


FS Catalog PRs
1539-1892
1539-1892
1539-1892

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1853.[14]

Census records[edit | edit source]

St Benet Pauls Wharf.png

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Gregory by St Paul's, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey and St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, and St Mary Mounthaw, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Gregory by St Paul's, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Mary Magdalen, Old Fish Street, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • S. Mary Magdalen (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Gregory by St Paul fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral. St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[15] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Gregory churchyard.[16]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

In the seventeenth century, 'Gregory' was a surname given to foundlings found in St Gregory by St Paul Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Magdalen Old Fish Street
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Gregory by St Paul

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Else Churchill, "Stuck in London: resources at the SOG and elsewhere." Presentation, Society of Genealogists, 2011. Slides available online.
  3. Cliff Webb, My Ancestors were Londoners: A Guide to London Sources for Family Historians (London: Society of Genealogists, 2009), 21.
  4. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  5. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013
  6. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  14. Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  15. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  16. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.