To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Mary Bourne, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from St Mary Bourne, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to St Mary Bourne, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Bourne, Hampshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Evingar
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Whitchurch
Registration District Whitchurch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661; For more records see Hustbourne Priors
Bishop's Transcripts: 1758
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Andover
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Hurstbourne Priors with St Mary Bourne; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, described St Mary Bourne like this:

BOURNE-ST. MARY, a tything and a parish in Whitchurch district, Hants. The tything lies near the Southwestern railway, 3 miles NW of Whitchurch; and has a post office under Andover. The parish includes also the tythings of Binley, Egbury, Stoke, Swampton, Jamaica, and Week.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Mary Bourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[8]
ST MARY BOURNE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1663-1837

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG
1662-1812

GENUKI
1662-1812

JOIN
1662-1812

PALL
1663-1812

PRTS 1780-1784
1780-1784
1780-1784

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 5 June 2103.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 1 (1900). Digitised by GENUKI - free.
  6. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library. Indexes males only.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.