To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle

London St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle, London
Londonstmaryaldermary.jpg
St Mary Aldermary
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for St Thomas the Apostle beginning 1558-1680, 1704
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799; Separate records exist for St Thomas the Apostle beginning 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham and Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Mary Aldermary
St Thomas the Apostle church site

'St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle, the church of, situated near the middle, and on the east side of Bow Lane, Cheapside and derives its name from being dedicated to the Virgin Mary, and its addition of Alder, to Older or Elder Mary, from its being the oldest church in the city...

'In 1510, Sir Henry Keble, Lord Mayor of London, bequeathed £1000 towards rebuilding the ancient church, which stood on this site, and had become much decayed by age; and in 1626, William Rodoway gave £3000 more, and other individuals contributed liberally. The body of the church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and was rebuilt, and the power (sic) repaired and cased, by Sir Christopher Wren, in 1711, at the sole expense of Henry Rogers, Esq., as appears by a Latin inscription over the western door of the church.

'The interior is 100 feet in length, 63 in breadth, and 45 in height. The church is a rectory, and one of the thirteen peculiars of the Archbishop of Canterbury. After the fire of London, the adjoining parish of St Thomas the Apostle, was united to it by act of parliament; the patronage of which being in the Dean and Chapter alternately. It is a rectory in the city of London, and in the Province of Canterbury.'[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Mary Aldermary Parish united with St Thomas the Apostle Parish.[2]

St Thomas the Apostle Parish was part of Vintry Ward. The building was demolished.

St Mary Aldermary belonged to Cordwainer Ward.

1848 description[edit | edit source]

St. Mary Aldermary, with St. Thomas the Apostle are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Archbishop of Canterbury, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Mary Aldermary Parish[edit | edit source]

Online St Mary Aldermary Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1558
1558
Images
1558-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1906 Ancestry[5] 1754-1921 Ancestry[6] 1813-1851 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1558-1860 FamilySearch[8] 1558-1836 FamilySearch[9] 1558-1754 findmypast[10]
1558-1754 InternetArchive[11] 1558-1836 findmypast[12] 1558-1754 InternetArchive[11]
1558-1754 FreeReg[13] 1558-1754 FreeReg[13] 1558-1754 FreeReg[13]
1558-1754 TheGenealogist 1558-1754 InternetArchive[11] 1813-1851 findmypast[14]
    1558-1754 TheGenealogist    
    1754-1837 findmypast[15]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[16]    


St Thomas the Apostle Parish[edit | edit source]

Online St Thomas the Apostle Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1558
1558
Images
1558-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials
1813-1886 Ancestry 1813-1885 Ancestry 1813-1849 Ancestry
Indexes 1558-1754 FreeReg[13] 1558-1672 FreeReg[13] 1558-1754 FreeReg[13]
1558-1859 FamilySearch[17] 1558-1672
1754-1835
FamilySearch[18] 1558-1754 findmypast
1558-1754 InternetArchive[19] 1558-1754 InternetArchive[19] 1558-1754 InternetArchive[19]
1558-1754 GoogleBooks[19] 1558-1836 GoogleBooks[19] 1558-1754 GoogleBooks[19]
1558-1754 TheGenealogist[20] 1558-1754 TheGenealogist[20] 1813-1849 findmypast
    1558-1835 findmypast    
    1754-1837 findmypast    
    1780-1837 Ancestry    


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records[edit | edit source]

St James Garlickhithe.png

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Aldermary, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Thomas the Apostle, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Thomas the Apostle, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/157); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Thomas the Apostle, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Aldermary, Cordwainer Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Thomas the Apostle, Cordwainer Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Thomas the Apostle, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/504); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Thomas the Apostle, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/543); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Aldermary, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 2 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Thomas the Apostle, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 2 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Thomas the Apostle, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/587); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Aldermary, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/582); copy: FHL Film 2228705.
  • St Thomas the Apostle, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/584); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]

1733 List of Inhabitants[edit | edit source]

Chester included a 1733 list of inhabitants of St Thomas the Apostle Parish in his book.

1811 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1811 Census of St Thomas the Apostle exists and is held at The British Library.[21]

1821 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1821 Census of St Thomas the Apostle exists and is held at The British Library.[21]

1831 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1831 Census of St Thomas the Apostle exists and is held at The British Library.[21]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, St Mary Aldermary fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, Shoreham.

St Thomas the Apostle fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[22] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Mary Aldermary churchyard site
[[Image:
Londonstthomasapostlecemetery.jpg
St Thomas the Apostle churchyard
]]
  • A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Mary Aldermary churchyard.[24]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Mary Aldermary Parish the unique surname Aldermary.[25]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Thomas the Apostle
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Aldermary

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Aldermary in the City of London | St Thomas the Apostle in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Aldermary in the City of London | St Thomas the Apostle in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Aldermary in the City of London | St Thomas the Apostle in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1853, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Aldermary in the City of London | St Thomas the Apostle in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. Batches C001512, P001511, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  9. Batch M001511, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts (1558-1754) and parish registers (1754-1836).
  10. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts", Find My Past, accessed 22 December 2011.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 Joseph Lemuel Chester, The Parish Registers of St. Mary Aldermary, London, Containing the Marriages, Baptisms, and Burials from 1558 to 1754 (1880). Digital versions at Internet Archive; Internet Archive (another copy); Internet Archive (another copy).
  12. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  13. 13.0 13.1 13.2 13.3 13.4 13.5 Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
  14. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  15. "Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches," British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  16. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  17. Batches C001532, P001531, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  18. Batch M001531 (inactive 21/02/2012), see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts (1558-1835) and parish registers (1835-1836).
  19. 19.0 19.1 19.2 19.3 19.4 19.5 Joseph Lemuel Chester, The Parish Registers of St. Thomas the Apostle, London, Containing the Marriages, Baptisms, and Burials from 1558 to 1754 (1881).
  20. 20.0 20.1 "London Parish Record Transcripts," The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  21. 21.0 21.1 21.2 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publishing, 2002), 68, 71, 73.
  22. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  23. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  24. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  25. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.



To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.