St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle

London St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle, London
Londonstmaryaldermary.jpg
St Mary Aldermary
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for St Thomas the Apostle beginning 1558-1680, 1704
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799; Separate records exist for St Thomas the Apostle beginning 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham and Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

St Mary Aldermary
St Thomas the Apostle church site
'St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle, the church of, situated near the middle, and on the east side of Bow Lane, cheapside and derives its name from being dedicated to the Virgin Mary, and its addition of Alder, to Older or Elder mary, from its being the oldest church in the city...


'In 1510, Sir Henry Keble, Lord Mayor of London, bequeathed £1000 towards rebuilding the ancient church, which stood on this site, and had become much decayed by age; and in 1626, William Rodoway gave £3000 more, and other inidividuals contributed liberally. The body of the church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and was rebuilt, and the power repoaired and cased, by Sir Christopher Wren, in 1711, at the sole expense of Henry Rogers, Esq., as appears by a Latin inscription over the western door of the church.

'The interior is 100 feet in length, 63 in breadth, and 45 in height. The church is a rectory, and one of the thirteen peculiars of the Archbishop of Canterbury. After the fire of London, the adjoining parish of St Thomas the Apostle, was united to it by act of parliament; the patronage of which being in the Dean and Chapter alternately. It is a rectory in the city of London, and in the Province of Canterbury.'[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Mary Aldermary Parish united with St Thomas the Apostle Parish.[2]

St Thomas the Apostle Parish was part of Vintry Ward. The building was demolished.

St Mary Aldermary belonged to Cordwainer Ward.

1848 description

St. Mary Aldermary, with St. Thomas the Apostle are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Archbishop of Canterbury, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Resources

Church records

St Mary Aldermary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
GOOGLE = Google Books - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[5][6]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[7]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[8]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[9][10][11]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[12]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[13]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Mary Aldermary Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1558-1754
1558-1754
1558-1754
ARCHIVE
1558-1754
1558-1754
1558-1754
FMP Bur



1558-1754
ANC 1 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910 1813-1910 1754-1931 1754-1931 1813-1848 1813-1848
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1558-1754
1558-1754
1558-1754
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1558-1754, 1754-1860
1558-1836


FS Catalog PRs


1776-1812

FS Catalog BTs
1813-1837
1813-1837
1813-1837

St Thomas the Apostle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Thomas the Apostle Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1558-1754
1558-1672
1558-1754
GOOGLE
1558-1754
1558-1754
1558-1754
FMP



1558-1849
FMP Bur



1558-1754
ANC 1 1558-1680, 1704-1812 1558-1680, 1704-1812 1558-1680, 1704-1812 1558-1680, 1704-1812 1558-1680, 1704-1812 1558-1680, 1704-1812
ANC 2 1813-1885 1813-1885 1770-1884 1770-1884 1813-1849 1813-1849
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1558-1754
1558-1672
1558-1754
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1558-1754, 1754-1873
1558-1835


FS Catalog PRs
1558-1873
1558-1873
1558-1873
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1640
1639-1640
1639-1640

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

St James Garlickhithe.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Mary Aldermary, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Thomas the Apostle, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Thomas the Apostle, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/157); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Thomas the Apostle, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Aldermary, Cordwainer Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Thomas the Apostle, Cordwainer Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Thomas the Apostle, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/504); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Thomas the Apostle, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/543); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy

  • St Mary Aldermary, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 2 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Thomas the Apostle, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 2 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • St Thomas the Apostle, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/587); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1646 Subsidy

  • St Mary Aldermary, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/582); copy: FHL Film 2228705.
  • St Thomas the Apostle, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/584); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists

(see supplements for St Thomas the Apostle residents) 

1733 List of Inhabitants

Chester included a 1733 list of inhabitants of St Thomas the Apostle Parish in his book.

1811 Census

The 1811 Census of St Thomas the Apostle exists and is held at The British Library.[14]

1821 Census

The 1821 Census of St Thomas the Apostle exists and is held at The British Library.[14]

1831 Census

The 1831 Census of St Thomas the Apostle exists and is held at The British Library.[14]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, St Mary Aldermary fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, Shoreham. St Thomas the Apostle fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[15] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Mary Aldermary churchyard site
St Thomas the Apostle churchyard

Transcripts of early St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[16]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Mary Aldermary churchyard.[17]

Find A Grave has created pages on St Mary Aldermary's Churchyard (8+ entries) and St Thomas the Apostle Churchyard (defunct) (2+ entries).

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Mary Aldermary Parish the unique surname Aldermary.[18]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Thomas the Apostle
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Aldermary

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. County and Place Records, FreeReg, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  14. 14.0 14.1 14.2 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68, 71, 73.
  15. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  16. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  17. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  18. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.