St Mary (Scillys), Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to St Marys, Old Town, Scillys, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Mary (Scillys), Cornwall|
|Poor Law Union||Isles of Scilly|
|Registration District||Scilly Islands|
|Parish registers: 1726|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MARY (ST.), an island and a parish in the Scilly Islands, Cornwall. The island is the chief one of the Scilly islands; measures about 2½ miles in length, about 1½ mile in breadth, and about 1,600 acres in area and contains the village of Hugh Town and has a post office.
Scilly Islands, island-group at the entrance of the English Channel, 25 miles SW of Lands End, 3500 ac., pop. 2320; called Scilly. The islands constitute a parish of Cornwall and are in the Western or St Ives Parliamentary Division of that county. They are about 30 miles in circumference and number 140, but only six of them are of any importance: St Mary's, Tresco, St Martins, St Agnes, Bryher, and Samson.
See Isles of Scilly for more information.
St Mary Scilly is an Ancient parish. The church of St Mary was built at Old Town during the 19th century, replacing a previous building dating substantially from the 12th century.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
St Mary (Scillys), Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|St Mary (Scillys), Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|FREG||1677-1794, 1869-1901||1677-1794||1677-1794, 1869-1885|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:
- 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.