St Martin by Looe, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to St Martin by Looe, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Martin by Looe, Cornwall|
|Poor Law Union||Liskeard|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MARTIN (ST.), a parish in Liskeard district, Cornwall; on Looe bay and the river Looe, 4½ miles SSW of Menheniot r. station, and 6½ S by E of Liskeard. It contains the town of East Looe; and its Post town is Looe, under Liskeard.
MARTIN, ST., a parish, in the union of Liskeard, hundred of West, E. division of Cornwall; containing, with the town of East Looe, 1402 inhabitants. The parish is bounded on the west by Looe harbour, and on the south by the English Channel. At East Looe is a district church. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. Here was formerly a nunnery.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
St Martin by Looe, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|St Martin by Looe, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|FS PRs||1653-1905||1653-1907||1653-1900, 1957-1988|
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 138
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The 1851 Census of Religion was a separate census carried out at the same time as the main Census of Population. It assumed that everyone was Christian, and tried to find out what kind of Christians were most important in each district. It did this by counting how many people attended each church on the census Sunday. Our information has been considerably simplified from the original returns, which counted 35 different religious groups in England and Wales. One result is a large 'other' category.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:
- 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
St Martin by Looe in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Wilson, John Marius. Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 266-269.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 15 November 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 27 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.