St Martin Outwich, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Martin Outwich

London St Martin Outwich ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Martin Outwich, London
Londonstmartinoutwich.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664-65; 1802-33
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

"St Martin Outwich, the church of, is situated at the southeast corner of Threadneedle Street, in Bishopsgate Street. It obtained its name from being dedicated aforementioned St. Martin, and its edition from William and John the odds wake, who were anciently its proprietors and patrons. In 1325 John de Warren, Earl of Surrey, presented to this living, but dying without issue, it devolved to the crown, and came afterwards into the possession of the Merchant Taylors' [sic] Company, who have ever since enjoyed the ride of patronage. You'll church, which was built in 1540, was one of the few that escaped the ravages of the fire of London, but it became afterwards so dilapidated by age, and the large fire that consumed much of the adjacent property in 1765, that it was taken down in 1795, and the first stone of the present edifice was laid on the fourth of May 1796. It is a neat small church, erected from the designs of the late Mr. Cockerell, and has a fresco painting of The Ascension, by Rigaud, over the altar.

"The church is a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the Merchant Taylors' Company."[1]

St Martin Outwich belonged to Bishopsgate Ward and/or Broad Street Ward.


1848 parish description

St. Martin Outwich is a parish, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is, the Merchant Tailors’ Company. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Resources

Church records

St Martin Outwich parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Martin Outwich Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ARCHIVE
1670-1873
1670-1872
1670-1852
FREG 1670-1873
1670-1872
1670-1852
FMP



1754-1852
FMP Bur



1670-1852
ANC 1 1670-1811
1670-1811
1670-1811
ANC 2 1815-1834
1754-1872
1815-1840
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1670-1873
1670-1872
1670-1852
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs
1670-1852
1670-1852
1670-1852
FS Catalog BTs
1664-1665
1664-1665
1664-1665

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Martin Outwich, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/139); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Martin Outwich, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/144); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Martin Outwich, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/217); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Martin Outwich, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
St Botolph without Bishopsgate.png

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Martin Outwich, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/489); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidies

  • St Martin Outwich, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/511); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • S. Martin Outwich (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/547); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.

1628 Subsidy

  • St Martin Outwich, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/556); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1646 Subsidy

  • St Martin Outwich, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/597); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Martin Outwich Parish are available online.


Before 1858, St Martin Outwich, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Martin Outwich churchyard

Transcripts of early St Martin Outwich, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[4]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Martin Outwich churchyard.[5]

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Martin Outwich Parish the unique surname Outwich.[6]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Martin Outwich

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  4. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  5. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  6. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=St_Martin_Outwich,_London_Genealogy&oldid=3552280"