To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Martin Ludgate, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Martin Ludgate

London St Martin Ludgate ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Martin Ludgate, London
Londonstmartinludgate.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for St Sepulchre Old Red Hand and Mitre Chapel beginning 1750-54
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Martin Ludgate

"St Martin Ludgate, the church of, is situated on the north side of Ludgate Street, between Stationers Hall Court and the Old Bailey [Sessions]. It is so named from being dedicated to the before mentioned St. Martin, and it's contiguity to the ancient Ludgate. The patronage of his church was originally in the Abbot and convent Westminster, and continued with him till the suppression of that monastery by Henry VIII, who erected Westminster into a bishopric, and conferred it on the new Bishop. The see, however, being dissolved by Edward VI, Queen Mary his successor granted the advowson to the Bishop of London and his successors, in whom it still remains.


"The ancient church was destroyed by the great fire in 1666, after which the present church was erected for the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. It is a rectory in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London,and in the patronage of the Bishop of London."[1]

1848 description[edit | edit source]

St. Martin, Ludgate is a parish, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is, the Bishop. It is within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Martin Ludgate parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[3][4]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[5]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[6][7][8]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Martin Ludgate Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1726-1848
ANC 1 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812 1539-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1931 1754-1931 1813-1843 1813-1843
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1812, 1813-1874




FS Catalog PRs
1539-1958
1539-1958
1539-1958
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1640
1629-1640
1629-1640

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/145); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Andrew by the Wardrobe.png

1589 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Books Online

1622 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/505); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/537); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/555); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645 Subsidies[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 14); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Martin, Ludgate, Farringdon Ward Without, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/600); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Martin Ludgate, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[10] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Martin Ludgate churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Martin Ludgate, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[11]

A survey of monumental brasses, published 1891, is available online.[12]

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Martin Ludgate

FamilySearch Books Online

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  3. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  11. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  12. Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.