St Margaret Pattens with St Gabriel Fenchurch, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Margaret Pattens with St Gabriel Fenchurch

London St Margaret Pattens with St Gabriel Fenchurch ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Margaret Pattens with St Gabriel Fenchurch, London
St Margaret Pattens
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for St Gabriel Fenchurch beginning 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Gabriel Fenchurch beginning 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

St Margaret Pattens
"St Margaret Pattens with St Gabriel Fenchurch, the church of, it situated at the southeast corner of Rood Lane, Fenchurch Street, andderives its name from its dedication to the before-mentioned St Margaret, and its addition from being situated in a lane occupied at that time by only makers and sellers of pattens. The original foundation of this church was in or before 1324, and was in the patronage of the family of the Nevils, with whom it remained till 1392, when it came to Robert Rekeden, of Essex, and Margaret his wife, who in 1408 conveyed it to Richard Whittington and other citizens of London, together with the advowson of St Peter, Cornhill, and the manor of Leadenhall; which agreement the said Whittington and others confirmed in 1411 to the Mayor and Commonalty of London, in whom the right...has ever since remained. The old church was burned down in the dreadful fire of 1666, and the present edifice erected in 1687 by Sir Christopher Wren. The interior is 66 feet in length, 52 in breadth, and 32 in height, lighted by a range of arched windows. At the time of the fire the ancient church was united by act of Parliament to that if St Margaret Pattens, It was also a rectory, dedicated to St Gabriel, and founded before the year 1321...The patronage of this church was in the prior and convent of the Holy Trinity within Aldgate, until the suppression of thisr priory, when it devolved to the crown... This united parish church is a recotiry in the city, ciocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the alternate patronage of the Lord Chancellor..., the Lord Mayor and Court of Aldermen...; and the Lord Mayor and Common Council one turn."[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Gabriel Fenchurch Parish united with St Margaret Pattens Parish.[2]

1848 description

St. Margaret Pattens, with St. Gabriel, Fenchurch are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, the Mayor and Aldermen, and the Mayor and Common Council, by turns. They are within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

St. Margaret Pattens belonged to Billingsgate Ward.

Resources

Church records

St Gabriel Fenchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
St Gabriel Fenchurch Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1754-1851
ANC 1 1571-1812
1571-1812
1571-1812
ANC 2 1815-1842
1814-1837
1814-1839
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs
1571-1901
1571-1901
1571-1901

St Margaret Pattens parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Margaret Pattens Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1813-1853
ANC 1 1559-1812
1559-1812
1559-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916
1754-1931
1813-1838
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs
1506-1952
1506-1952
1506-1952

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Margaret Pattens, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Margaret Pattens, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Margaret Pattens, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1628 Subsidy

All Hallows Barking.png
  • St Margaret Pattens, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/563); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Margaret Pattens with St Gabriel Fenchurch, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Gabriel Fenchurch raised tomb
St Margaret churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Margaret Pattens with St Gabriel Fenchurch, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[5]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Margaret Pattens churchyard.[6]

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Gabriel Fenchurch Parish the unique surname Fenchurch.[7]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Margaret Pattens
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Gabriel Fenchurch

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  5. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  6. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  7. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.