To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Margaret Lothbury with St Christopher le Stocks and St Bartholomew by the Exchange, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Margaret Lothbury with St Christopher le Stocks and St Bartholomew by the Exchange

London St Margaret Lothbury with St Christopher le Stocks and St Bartholomew by the Exchange ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Margaret Lothbury with St Christopher le Stocks and St Bartholomew by the Exchange, London
St Margaret Lothbury.jpg
St Margaret Lothbury
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for St Bartholomew by the Exchange beginning 1558 and also St Christopher le Stocks beginnig 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665-66; 1800; Separate records exist for St Bartholomew by the Exchange beginning 1800 and also for St Christopher le Stocks beginning 1664-6
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division); Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

"St Margaret Lothbury with St Christopher le Stocks and St Bartholomew by the Exchange, the church of, is situated on the north side of Lothbury, opposite the south front of the Bank of England. It derives its name from being dedicated to St. Margaret, a... saint of Antioch, who in the reign of the Emperor Decius is efficient from a situation, and to distinguish it from the other churches of the same city. The ancient church, which was built in 1440 being destroyed at the great fire of 1666, the present stone edifice was elected Mr. Christopher Wren, and finished in 1690. It stands upon the ancient course of Walbrook, and is a plain substantial building. The interior is also the current in order with columns, clusters and in temperatures of excellent proportions. It is 66 feet in length, 44 in breadth and 36 in height, well lighted by a row of lofty windows. The church is a rectory, the foundation of which is of a of great antiquity, as appears from Jon Haslam Field was presented to it by the Abbess and convent of Barking, in Essex,... in 1303. The patronage continued in that convent till the time of the reformation, when being dissolved, it fell to the crown, who gave it up to the Bishop of London...

"At the time when the church of St Christopher-le-Stocks was pulled down to make way for the west end of the Bank of England, by Princes Street, that parish was united to it by act of Parliament. The advowson is a rectory in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the Bishop of that see."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Christopher le Stocks Parish united with St Margaret Lothbury Parish.[2]

These parishes belonged to Broad Street Ward.

St Bartholomew by the Exchange is also known as St Bartholomew by Royal Exchange.


1848 parish description[edit | edit source]


St. Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange (no church) is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.

and

St. Margaret, Lothbury with St. Christopher-le-Stocks, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Bishop, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.
[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Bartholomew by the Exchange parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Bartholomew by the Exchange Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1754-1852
FMP Bur



1559-1838
ANC 1 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
ANC 2 1813-1836, 1847-1886 1813-1836, 1847-1886 1812-1839 1812-1839 1813-1834 1813-1834
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1558-1736, 1723-1812, 1813-1840
1723-1840


FS Catalog PRs
1558-1840
1558-1840
1558-1840
FS Catalog BTs
1800-1812
1800-1812
1800-1812
  • Freshfield, Edwin. The Vestry Minute Books of the Parish of St. Bartholomew Exchange in the City of London: 1567-1676. 1890. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.
  • The Account Books of the Parish of St. Bartholomew Exchange in the City of London 1596-1698. 1895. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.

St Christopher le Stocks parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Christopher le Stocks Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ARCHIVE
1558-1704
1558-1753
1558-1781
FMP



1754-1853
FMP Bur



1559-1780
ANC 1 1557-1781 1557-1781 1557-1781 1557-1781 1557-1781 1557-1781
ANC 2

1754-1780 1754-1780

ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1557-1809
1557-1780


FS Catalog PRs
1557-1781
1557-1781
1557-1781
FS Catalog BTs
1664-1666
1664-1666
1664-1666
  • Freshfield, Edwin. Minutes of the Vestry Meetings and Other Records of the Parish of St. Christopher le Stocks, in the City of London. 1886. Digital version at Internet Archive.

St Margaret Lothbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Margaret Lothbury Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1754-1853
FMP Bur



1558-1853
ANC 1 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1931 1754-1931 1813-1849 1813-1849
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1558-1856, 1774-1874
1558-1875, 1754-1875, 1813-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1558-1924
1558-1924
1558-1924
FS Catalog BTs
1665-1666
1665-1666
1665-1666
  • Freshfield, Edwin. On the Parish Books of St. Margaret-Lothbury, St. Christopher-le-Stocks, and St. Bartholomew-by-the Exchange, in the City of London. London: J.B. Nichols and Sons, 1876. Digital version at Google Books.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

St Margaret Lothbury.png

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/144); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Christopher le Stocks, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/144); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Margaret, Lothbury, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/144); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Margaret, Lothbury, Coleman Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidies[edit | edit source]

Subsidy 1

  • St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/217); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Christopher le Stocks, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/217); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Margaret, Lothbury, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/217); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

Subsidy 2

  • St Margaret, Lothbury, Coleman Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Christopher le Stocks, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/489); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Christopher le Stocks, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/489); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Christopher le Stocks, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/485); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidies[edit | edit source]

  • St Christopher le Stocks, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/516); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Christopher le Stocks, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/545); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Margaret, Lothbury, Coleman Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/513); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/556); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Christopher le Stocks, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/556); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Margaret, Lothbury, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/556); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1641 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Christopher le Stocks, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/568); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


1821 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1821 Census of St Margaret Lothbury exists and is held at The British Library.[12]

1831 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1831 Censuses of St Christopher le Stocks and St Margaret Lothbury exist.[12]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Christopher le Stocks fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. St Bartholomew by the Exchange and St Margaret Lothbury fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents of St Bartholomew and St Margaret left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[13] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Christopher le Stocks churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Margaret Lothbury with St Christopher le Stocks and St Bartholomew by the Exchange, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[14]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Margaret Lothbury churchyard.[15]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Bartholomew by the Exchange Parish the unique surname Exchange.[16]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Margaret Lothbury
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Christopher le Stocks
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Bartholomew by the Exchange

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. 12.0 12.1 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 71, 73.
  13. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  14. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  15. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  16. Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.