Wallingford St Leonard, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from St Leanard, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Wallingford St Leonard

Guide to Wallingford St Leonard, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wallingford St Leonard, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wallingford Borough
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wallingford
Registration District Wallingford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1711
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wallingford
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

WALLINGFORD, a borough and market town, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Moreton, county of Berks, 15 miles (N. N. W.) from Reading, and 46 (W. by N.) from London. Wallingford comprises the parishes of All Hallows, St. Leonard, St. Mary-le-More, and St. Peter. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wallingford St Leonard parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Wallingford St Leonard Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1813-1892
1605-1704
1605-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker is a non-Church of England denomination located somewhere in Wallingford, but the exact parish has not been identified.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wallingford St Loenard in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 440-444. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk