St Lawrence Newland, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
St Lawrence Newland


Guide to St Lawrence Newland, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Lawrence Newland, Essex
S Lawrence Newland Essex.jpg
S Lawrence Newland Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dengie
County Essex
Poor Law Union Maldon
Registration District Maldon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1704
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dengie
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

St Lawrence Newland or Lawrence (St.)-Newland, is a parish in Maldon district, Essex; on the estuary of the Blackwater, 8½ miles ESE of Maldon railway station. The post town is, Tillingham, under Maldon.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Lawrence Newland, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
St Lawrence Newland, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1704-2000 1706-1955 1704-2000
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Parish registers for St. Lawrence-Newland  Microfilm of original records at the Essex Record Office, Chelmsford. Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, no.: D/P361/1/1-2A, 12-13.

Baptisms, 1704-1772; marriages, 1705-1753; burials, 1704-1771. Baptisms, burials, 1766-1812. Marriages, 1754-1836. Marriage banns, 1941-1981. FHL BRITISH Film 1472679 Items 17 - 21
Baptisms, 1704-1772; marriages, 1705-1753; burials, 1704-1771 (another filming). Marriages, 1754-1812 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film 857057 Items 9 - 10

Bishop's transcripts for St. Lawrence-Newland Microfilm copy of original at Essex Record Office in Chelmsford, England. Essex Record Office, Chelmsford, no.: D/CR 311.

Baptisms, burials, 1800-1833, 1848-1870; marriages, 1800-1833, 1848. FHL BRITISH Film 1702557 Item 5

Bishop's transcripts for St. Lawrence-Newland Microfilm of original records at the Guildhall Library, London.
IN Copies of parish registers brought in at visitations, various dates / Church of England. Diocese of London.

Baptisms, marriages, burials 1629-1631 (134th parish) FHL BRITISH Film 413720 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1639-1640 (154th parish) FHL BRITISH Film 413721

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

St Lawrence Newland on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted 17 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.