To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street

London St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street, London
St Lawrence Jewry Church.jpg
St Lawrence Jewry
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for St Mary Magdalene Milk Street beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Mary Magdalene Milk Street beginning 1639-40
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

"St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street, it is situated at the southwest corner Guildhall Yard and at Cateaton Street .  It derives its name has been dedicated to St. Lawrence, a Spanish saint...[and of it's location] near the Jewry.  In the ancient church on the site was a rectory, which being given by Henry de Wickenbroke to Balliol College, in 1294, directory ceased, and Richard Bishop of London, converted it into a vicarage, and the patronage still continues with the master and scholars of that college. It was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and was rebuilt by Sir Christopher Wren, at the expense of the parishioners, assisted by a very liberal benefaction by Sir John Langham.  The parish of St. Mary, Magdalene, Milk Street, was united in to it by an act of parliament, and the church was finished in 1676.  The present church is a handsome building of the Corinthian order, and the east end, next Guildhall Yard, is a composition of or Corinthian columns, with niches and festoons of fruit.  On the summit of the steeple, is a vane in the form of a gridiron, illustrative of St. Lawrence's martyrdom.  The interior is rich, and beautifully decorated with elaborately modeled stucco ornaments, and has several monuments to celebrated persons.  It is 81 feet long, 68 broad, and 48 high.  This church is occasionally used Bo and Walbrook churches [which see, respectively, St. Mary le Bow and Stephen Walbrook] for corporation sermons. The advowson of this church is a vicarage, and in that of its sister parish of St. Mary Magdalene, Milk Street, is a rectory, and to the patronage is alternately with Baliol College and the dean and chapter of St. Paul's.  It is in the city in archdeaconry of London..."[1]

St Lawrence Jewry belonged to Cheap Ward.


1848 parish description:
St. Lawrence, Jewry, with St. Mary Magdalene Milk-street, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is Balliol College, Oxford, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]


Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Lawrence Jewry parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[3][4]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Lawrence Jewry Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1800-1853
FMP Bur



1563-1812
ANC 1 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1846 1813-1846 1754-1924 1754-1924 1813-1847 1813-1847
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1812
1538-1882


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1951
1538-1951
1538-1951
FS Catalog BTs
1800-1846
1800-1846
1800-1846

St Mary Magdalene Milk Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Mary Magdalene Milk Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1800-1853
FMP Bur



1566-1665
ANC 1 1559-1665 1559-1665 1559-1665 1559-1665 1559-1665 1559-1665
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


FS Catalog PRs
1518-1667, 1538-1951
1518-1667, 1538-1951
1518-1667, 1538-1951
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1640
1639-1640
1639-1640

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Clarke published the registers of both parishes:

  • St Lawrence Jewry 1538-1676
  • St Mary Madalene Milk Street 1558-1666
  • St Lawrence Jewry and St Mary Magdalen Milk Street 1677-1812[11]

Census records[edit | edit source]

St Mary le Bow.png

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Lawrence, Jewry, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Lawrence, Jewry, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Lawrence, Jewry, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Peter, Westcheap and St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1589 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Books Online

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645-1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 2); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1667 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

  • St Lawrence, Jewry, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Transcripts of early St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[12]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Magdalen Milk Street
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Lawrence Jewry

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  3. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:28.
  12. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.