St Katherine Cree, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Katherine Cree

London St Katherine Cree ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Katherine Cree, London
Londonstcatherinecree.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639-40; 1664-5; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

St Katherine Cree

Timeline

  • 1108 - first mentioned
  • 1631 - current church building built
  • 1962 - extensive church renovation

1831 description

"St Katherine or Catherine Cree, the church of, is situated at the southeast angle of Cree Church Lane, in Leadenhall Street.  It is dedicated to the same... saint and martyr as the preceding [St Katherine Coleman Parish], and is distinguished from other churches of the same name by the addition of Cree, the ancient English method of spelling Christ, as pronounced by the French, having been built on the site of a dissolved priory, whose church was called that of our Saviour Christ. They therefore dedicated it to St. Catherine, and added the original name of the priory by way of distinction. Henry VIII, in his grant of the priory to Sir Thomas afterwards Lord Audley, gave him also the patronage of the church. Upon the death of this noble man he bequeathed it to the master and Fellows of Magdalene College, Cambridge, and their successors, when he enjoined to serve the cure for ever. That corporation leased out the impropriation to the parish for 99 years; but a dispute arising between the college and the parish at the expiration of the set lease in 1725, about a renewal, a lease was granted to Jerome Knapp, Esq., a citizen and haberdasher of London, and an agreement, which was confirmed by act of Parliament in 1727, was entered into concerning a commutation in loop of tithes. The present structure was erected in 1630, it is built of stone in a mixed and impure style. The length of the body is 90 feet, the breadth 51, and height 37. Maitland...[said] that the church is a curacy, and that the parishioners have the privilege of electing their own minister, who must be licensed by the Bishop of London. But the Clerical Guide, which must be of authority, says that it is a vicarage and still in the gift of the master and Fellows of Magdalen College, Cambridge..."[1]

1848 description

St. Katarine Creechurch is a parish, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Master and Fellows of Magdalen College, Cambridge, the Impropriators. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Additional jurisdictions

St Katherine Cree belonged to Aldgate Ward. The parish is also known as St Katherine Creechurch, St Catherine Cree, and St Catherine Creechurch.

Resources

Church records

St Katherine Cree parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Katherine Cree Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1639-1853
ANC 1 1663-1812
1663-1812
1663-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916
1754-1923
1813-1853
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs
1650-1957
1650-1957
1650-1957
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1640, 1664-1665
1639-1640, 1664-1665
1639-1640, 1664-1665

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

1564 Subsidy

  • St Katherine Creechurch, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

St Katherine Cree.png

1589 Subsidy

FamilySearch Books Online

1620 Subsidy

  • S. Katherine Cree (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/499); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Katherine Creechurch, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/549); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy

  • St Katherine Creechurch, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 1 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1645 Subsidy

  • St Katherine Creechurch, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/595); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


1749-1891 List of Inhabitants

1831 Census

The 1831 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[4]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Katherine Cree Parish are available online.


Before 1858, St Katherine Cree, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Katherine Cree churchyard
Transcripts of early St Katherine Cree, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[5]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Catherine Cree churchyard.[6]

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Katherine Creechurch Parish the unique surname Creechurch.[7]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Katharine Cree

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  4. Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 73.
  5. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  6. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  7. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=St_Katherine_Cree,_London_Genealogy&oldid=3552271"