St Katherine Coleman, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Katherine Coleman

London St Katherine Coleman ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Katherine Coleman, London
Londonstkatherinecoleman.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-31; 1665-67; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

Timeline

  • 1346 - first mentioned
  • 1741 - church rebuilt
  • 1926 - church demolished

1831 description

"St Katherine Coleman, the church of, is situated on the east side of Church Row, on the south side of Fenchurch Street about ten houses  eastward of Mark Lane, with which it also communicates. It derives its name and addition from beinf dedicated to St Katherine, a virgin and martyr of Alexandria, and from being situated on a spot anciently called Coleman Haw. It is a very ancient rectory, as there are records of its being so in 1346. The old church was substantially repaired and a south aisle added in 1489,b Sir William White, then Lord Mayor of London. It escaped the great fire of 1666; but being very much out of repair, and much buried by the raising of the causeway in Fenchurch Street, it was pulled down in 1734, and the present church erected at the expense of the parish. It is a plain well-built church with a lofty nave, lighted with two rows of windows. The tower is square, and finished with embrasures, and the floor of the church is elevated several steps above the level of its surrounding churchyard.

"This church was originally in the patronage of the Dean of St Martin-le-Grand, and so continued till that religious house, with all its appurtneances, was annexed tot he Abbey of Westminster, after which it fell to the ground, and the advowson was given by Queen Mary, in the first year of her reign, to the Bishop of London and his successors in that see for ever. The Advowson is still under the same patronage."[1]


1848 parish description:
St. Katarine, Coleman is a parish, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is, the Bishop. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Also Known As

St Catherine Coleman is an alternative spelling of this parish.

Resources

Church records

St Katherine Coleman parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Katherine Coleman Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1813-1853
ANC 1 1559-1812
1559-1812
1559-1812
ANC 2 1813-1904
1754-1916
1813-1852
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs
1559-1875, 1802-1848
1559-1875, 1802-1848
1559-1875, 1802-1848
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1631, 1665-1667
1629-1631, 1665-1667
1629-1631, 1665-1667

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

1564 Subsidy

  • St Katherine Coleman, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

St Botolph without Aldgate.png

FamilySearch Books Online

1625 Subsidy

  • St Katherine Coleman, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/549); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy

  • St Katherine Coleman, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 1 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidies

  • St Katherine Coleman, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 13); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Katherine Coleman, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/595); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


1821 Census

The 1821 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[4]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Katherine Coleman, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[5] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Katherine Coleman churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Katherine Coleman, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[6]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Katherine Coleman

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  4. Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 71.
  5. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  6. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=St_Katherine_Coleman,_London_Genealogy&oldid=3552270"