To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St James Garlickhithe, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St James Garlickhithe

London St James Garlickhithe ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St James Garlickhithe, London
Londonstjamesgarlickhithe.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1535
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630-31; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1100s - first mentioned
  • 1535 - first baptism recorded in English parish registers occurred at this church
  • 1666 - church destroyed in Great Fire of London
  • 1676-1683 - church rebuilt

1831 description[edit | edit source]

St James Garlickhithe

'St James Garlickhithe, the church of, is situated at the corner of Garlick Hill and Maiden Lane, Upper Thames Street, and derives its name from being dedicated to St James the Apostle, and its addition from its ancient vicinity to the Garlick market of the city. The earlist mention of this church is, that it was rebuilt by Richard deRothin, sheriff, in 1326. The ancient church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, the foundation of the present building was liad in 1676, and the church finished in 1682. It is build of stone, is 75 feet in length, 45 feet in breath, and 40 feet in height to the ceiling. This steeple much resembles those of Stephen, in Walbrook, and St Michael, Royal College Hill, which are three as original, handsome and tastful erections of the sort, as any in London. From the body of the church projects a very handsome dial, upon the top which is a statue of the apostle to whom the church is dedicated. This church is a rectory, the patronage of which appears to have been in the abbot and convent of Westminster, till the suppression of their monastery by Henry VIII, when coming to crown, it was granted by Queen Mary to the Bishop fo London, and in the patronage of the Bishop of that see.'[1]


St James Garlickhithe Parish was part of Vintry Ward. Garlickhithe was also spelled Garlickhythe.[2]

1848 description[edit | edit source]

St. James, Garlick Hythe, is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Bishop. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St James Garlickhithe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St James Garlickhithe Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1813-1853
ANC 1 1535-1812 1535-1812 1535-1812 1535-1812 1535-1812 1535-1812
ANC 2 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1921 1754-1921 1813-1852 1813-1852
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1535-1809, 1810-1854
1754-1868


FS Catalog PRs
1535-1890
1535-1890
1535-1890
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1640
1629-1640
1629-1640

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1853.[2]

Census records[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St James Garlickhithe, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/157); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St James Garlickhithe, Vintry, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St James Garlickhithe, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/543); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

St James Garlickhithe.png

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St James Garlickhithe, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 8); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering St James Garlickhithe Parish are available online.


Before 1858, St James Garlickhithe, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Transcripts of early St James Garlickhithe, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[11]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St James Garlick Hill churchyard.[12]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St James Garlickhythe

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  12. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.