To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St James' Duke's Place, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St James' Duke's Place

London St James Duke's Place ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St James' Duke's Place, London
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1664
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1622 - parish created
  • 1874 - church demolished

1831 description[edit | edit source]

"St James Duke Place, the church of, is situated in that part of Duke's Place called the square, and nearly opposite the Great Synagogue of the German Jews. Duke's Place is a district covered with lanes and alleys, on a site of part of the once splendid and wealthy priory of the Holy Trinity, founded in 1108, by Matilda, Queen of Henry I. Being the richest in England, it was the first that was siexed upon by Henry VIII, in 1531, at the period of the dissolution of the religious houses. The King gave it to Sir Thomas Audley, Speaker of the Parliament, and afterwards Lord High Chancellor, for his services in opposition to Cardinal Wolsey. Sir Thomas demolished the priory, and converted part of it into a large mansion for his own residence. The only daughter of Sir Thomas being married to the Duke of Norfolk, the estate descended to the Duke, and was from that time to the present known by the name of "the Duke's place". When the Duke was beheaded, the estate descended to his son Thomas Howard, Eart of Suffolk who sold it in the thrirty-fourth year of Wueen Elizabeth to the mayor, commonalty and citizens of london. The inhabitants of Duke's Place, wishing to have a parish church to themselves, within their own precinct, applied to the Archbishop of Canterbury, who procured the King's warrant, and prevailed upon the Lord mator, aldermen, and common-council, to build them a church with the materials of the conventual church, which then remained upon the premises. This was accordingly done, and the church was consecrated an dedicated to St James, in honour of the reigning King, James I, on the 2nd of january 1622. Although it is a precinct within itself, under a minister, two constables, two headboroughs and fifteen jurymen. Duke's Place is now principally inhabited by Jews, who settled therein in the time of Oliver Cromwell. The church having escaped the fire of 1666, still retains its original form, but the body was rebuilt in 1727. It is a perpetual curacy in the city and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the Lord Mayor and commonalty of London..."[1]

1848 parish description:
St. James, Duke’s-place, is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Mayor and Alderman, the impropriators. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Clandestine marriages[edit | edit source]

During the second half of the seventeenth century, St James' Duke's Place was a clandestine place of marriage, free of the Bishop of London. 40,000 marriages took place there between 1661 and 1691. In 1686, the rector was actually suspended for performing marriages without banns or licence.[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St James' Duke's Place parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FS BOOKS = FamilySearch Digital Library - free
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[5][6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[11]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[12]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
St James' Duke's Place Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FS BOOKS


1668-1683, 1700-1837

ARCHIVE


1684-1690, 1691-1700

FREG

1683-1690


FMP

1664-1837
1747-1853
ANC 1 1664-1812 1664-1812 1664-1812 1664-1812 1664-1812 1664-1812
ANC 2 1813-1869 1813-1869 1754-1867 1754-1867 1814-1848 1814-1848
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN

1664-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1747-1872
1664-1682, 1682-1868, 1688-1691,
1692-1700, 1700-1868



FS Catalog PRs
1665-1872
1665-1872
1665-1872

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St James, Duke's Place, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/549); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St James Duke's Place, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/616); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

St Botolph without Aldgate.png

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering St James' Duke's Place Parish are available online.


Before 1858, St James' Duke's Place, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St James Duke's Place churchyard.[13]

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St James Duke's Place

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  3. Else Churchill, "Stuck in London: resources at the SOG and elsewhere." Presentation, Society of Genealogists, 2011. Slides available online.
  4. County and Place Records, FreeReg, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.