St Issey, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cornwall
Cornwall Parishes
St Issey

Guide to St Issey, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Issey, Cornwall
St Issey Church Cornwall.jpg
St Issey Church Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pyder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Columb Minor
Registration District St Austell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Post 1857 Pydar
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiars of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History

St Issey (Cornish: Egloskrug) is an Ancient Parish in Cornwall.

The parish takes its name from Saint Yse (or Ida), one of the twenty-four children of St Brychan, a 4th century Welsh saint and king. The Cornish name means "the church on the tumulus". In early records Egloscruk is the name of the parish, while St Ida refers to the site of the saint's chapel and holy well at Zanzidgie. Until 1199 the parish formed part of the manor and peculiar of Pawton, belonging to the Bishop of Exeter; it was then appropriated by the bishop to the Chapter of Exeter Cathedral. The remains of a sea mill on the River Camel are within the parish.

The parish church is partly Norman and was enlarged in the 15th century when the south aisle and tower were built. The tower has been rebuilt twice, ca. 1680, and again in 1871. In 1869 the church tower was struck by lightning and collapsed. It was subsequently rebuilt.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

St Issey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerk - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cornwall Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Cornwall Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[1]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Issey Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2010
1538-2010
1538-2010
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1916
1538-1839
1538-1928
TGEN 1540-1800s
1537-1800s


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for St Issey  Tim Johnson.

See also the St Issey Folk website for complete pedigree information for parish families.

Census records

Overview, Include any unique information such as, the census for X year was destroyed, Collection in FHL and link to catalog, Online sites.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Columb Major Poor Law Union (includes St Columb Minor)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
    * Vision of Britain

Websites

St Issey in GENUKI

References

  1. Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk