St Helen Bishopsgate, London Genealogy
London St Helen Bishopsgate ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Helen Bishopsgate, London|
|Hundred||London, Within the Walls|
|Poor Law Union||City of London|
|Registration District||London City|
|Parish registers: 1575|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral|
|Location of Archive|
|London Record Office|
- 1 Parish History
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Church records
- 2.2 Census records
- 2.3 Civil Registration
- 2.4 Probate Records
- 2.5 Cemetery
- 2.6 Records of the Poor
- 3 Maps and Gazetteers
- 4 Websites
- 5 References
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Timeline[edit | edit source]
- 1100s - first mentioned
- 1992-1993 - church badly damaged by IRA bombs; later fully restored
1831 description[edit | edit source]
"St Helen Bishopsgate, the church of, is situated nearly in the middle of great St. Helens. It derives its name from its being dedicated to St. Helens, the mother of Constantine the great, and escaped the great fire in 1666. You prepared (sic) and the new tower built in 1669, and contains many curious monuments among which is that of Francis Bancroft, who founded the alms houses called after his name. The patronage of his church appears to have been very anciently in lay hands, for in the reign of Henry the second, Randolph and his son, Robert, granted it to the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, by whom it was afterwards granted to William FitzWilliam, who, in 1212 founded the priory of St. Helen, and conferred advowson of the church on prior S. and nuns, in whom it continued till the suppression of their convent in 1539 when it devolved to the crown. In 1551, Edward VI granted it to Ridley, Bishop of London and his successors, which was confirmed by Queen Mary, in 1553; but it appears to have again reverted to the crown; for in 1568, Queen Elizabeth I granted it, by lease to Caesar Aldermary Thomas Colcel in trust for the parishioners, for a term of 21 years. This church is a vicarage, in the archdeaconry of London..."
St Helen Bishopgate belonged to Bishopsgate Ward.
St. Helen, Bishopsgate, is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Helen, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/139); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Helen, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Helen, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/511); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]
1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]
1801 Census[edit | edit source]
1821 Census[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Before 1858, St Helen Bishopsgate fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Cemetery[edit | edit source]
- Transcripts of early St Helen Bishopsgate, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.
- A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Helen Bishopsgate churchyard.
A 1924 survey of (1) monuments within the church, (2) floor slabs within the church, (3) monuments in the churchyard, and (4) monuments now disappeared, is available online - free. Brass rubbings and monument sketches are also included.
Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- St Helen's Bishopgate (official website). Photographs, history, visitor directions.
- London Family History Centre Catalogue
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Helen')
References[edit | edit source]
- James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.
- London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Helens, Bishopsgate in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Helen Bishopgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Helen Bishopgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Helen Bishopgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- Batches C001422, P001421, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- Batch M001421 (inactive 21/02/2012), see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts (1575-1837) and parish registers (1837-1870).
- 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- 'London Parish Register Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 9 January 2012.
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
- Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publishing, 2002), 66, 71.
- Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.
- Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- 'St. Helen's Bishopsgate: Monuments within the church', Survey of London: volume 9: The parish of St Helen, Bishopsgate, part I (1924), pp. 52-79. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=98362 Date accessed: 15 March 2012.