To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Giles without Cripplegate, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Giles without Cripplegate
St Giles without Cripplegate

Guide to St Giles without Cripplegate, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Giles without Cripplegate, Middlesex
St Giles, Cripplegate, London.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Without the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union East London
Registration District East London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Giles-without-Cripplegate is a Church of England church in the City of London, located within the modern Barbican complex. When built it stood without (that is, outside) the city wall, near the Cripplegate. The church is dedicated to St Giles, patron saint of beggars and cripples. It is one of the few medieval churches left in the City of London, having survived the Great Fire of 1666. There was a Saxon church on the site in the 11th century but by 1090 it had been replaced by a Norman one. In 1394 it was rebuilt in the perpendicular gothic style. The church has been badly damaged by fire on three occasions: In 1545, in 1897 and during an air raid of the Blitz of the Second World War on the night of 24 August 1940. German bombs completely gutted the church but it was restored using the plans of the reconstruction of 1545.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Giles without Cripplegate parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Giles without Cripplegate Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Giles, Cripplegate, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Giles without Cripplegate, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1600 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

St Giles without Cripplegate.png

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Giles, Cripplegate, Cripplegate Ward Without, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 9); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records.

Over the years, St Giles without Cripplegate has belonged to several civil registration districts:

Period
District
1837-1838
Bishopsgate Registration District
1838-1870
East London Registration District
1870-1974
London City Registration District[3]

There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Giles without Cripplegate, Middlesex Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Giles without Cripplegate churchyard (1841)

Transcripts of early St Giles without Cripplegate, Middlesex Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[4]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Giles Cripplegate churchyard.[5]

St Giles Cripplegate Churchyard database at Find A Grave.

Manorial Records[edit | edit source]

Records survive for Finsbury Manor (1332-1793) in St Giles without Cripplegate Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Giles Cripplegate Parish the unique surname Cripplegate.[6]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1000s - first mentioned
  • 1940 - bombed in London Blitz; later rebuilt

1831 description[edit | edit source]

'St Giles without Cripplegate, the church of, [is considered a London City parish. although it] is situated without the walls of London and at the southwest corner of Fore Street nearly opposite the entrance of Red Cross Street and Whitecross Street. It defines its name from having been dedicated to [a] S[ain]t. of that name, who was a native of Athens and flourished about the year 700 of the Christian era, it was abbot of Nismes, in France and its position from its situation. This church was built and founded about the year 1090, by Alfune the first master of St. Bartholomew's hospital, and was destroyed by fire in 1545.  The present structure was then erected, which is one of the few churches in the city to escape the great fire of 1666.  It is of the pointed or English style of architecture, is 174 feet in length, 63 and breadth, and 32 in height. The site of this parish was anciently a fen or moor, and its houses and gardens were accounted a village without the Wall of London called Mora whence the district called the Moor and Moorfields.  This village increased greatly and was constituted a prebend of St. Paul's Cathedral. Part of the ancient city wall is still remaining on the south and east sides of the churchyard, particularly one of the bastions, which is close against the back part of Barbers Hall, in Monkwells Street.

'In this church are deposited the mortal remains of many eminent authors; among which are, Speed, the historian and topographer; Fox, the author of The Book of Martyrs; Glover, the Antiquary; and, above all, Milton, the author of Paradise Lost.  The patronage of this church was originally in private hands, tilll it descended to Alemund, who granted it, after the deaths of himself and Hugh, his only son, to the dean and chapter of St. Paul's...  The church is a vicarage in the city and Archdeaconry of London.'[7]

St Giles without Cripplegate Parish belonged to Cripplegate Ward. Lambe's Chapel belonged to this parish.

1848 description:

St. Giles, without Cripplegate is a parish, in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, the appropriators.[8]

Published histories[edit | edit source]

Several histories have been published about this parish, including:

  • Baddeley, John James. An Account of the Church and Parish of St. Giles, without Cripplegate, in the City of London. Compiled from Various Old Authorities, Including the Churchwardens' Accounts, and the Vestry Minute Books of the Parish. London: J.J. Baddeley, 1888. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.
  • Miller, William. London Before the Fire of 1666: With an Historical Account of The Parish, The Ward, and the Church of St. Giles without Cripplegate. Brought Down to the Present Time. London: J.H. Woodley, 1867. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia St Giles-without-Cripplegate. Adapted. Date accessed: 30 January 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  3. "Registration Districts in England and Wales (1837-1974)," GENUKI, http://www.ukbmd.org.uk/genuki/reg/districts/index.html, accessed 13 January 2012.
  4. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  5. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  6. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.
  7. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  8. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.