St Giles in the Wood, Devon Genealogy
Guide to St Giles in the Wood, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Giles in the Wood, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Torrington|
|Parish registers: 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GILES, ST., a parish, in the union of Torrington, hundred of Fremington, Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 3 miles (E. by S.) from Torrington. The church, erected in 1675, is of plain architecture.
John Marius Wilson describes it a little differently.
GILES' (St.) IN-THE-WOOD, or Stow-St-Giles, is a parish in Torrington district, Devon; 3 miles E by S of Great Torrington, and 6 WSW of Umberleigh railway station. There are chapels for Baptists and Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
St Giles in the Wood, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|St Giles in the Wood, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
St Giles in the Wood on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 3 November 2013.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72) Adapted, date accessed: 9 August 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.