St George in the East St George, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
St George in the East St George
St George in the East St George, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Tower Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union St George in the East
Registration District St George-in-the-East
Records begin
Parish registers: 1729
Bishop's Transcripts: 1805
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History

St George in the East is an Anglican Church and one of six Hawksmoor churches in London, England. It was built from 1714 to 1729,with funding from the 1711 Act of Parliament. The name of the church was also the parish for the surrounding area, until subsumed into Metropolitan Borough of Stepney and abolished in 1927.[1]

Additional information:

'St George in the East, the church of, is situated on the north side of Ratclffie Highway, near the corner of Cannon Street. It is one of the fifty new churches appointed to be erected by act of parliament, in the reign of Queen Anne. It was began [sic] from the designs of Nicholas Hawksmoor, in 1715, and finished in 1729. The parish was taken from that of St Dunstan, Stepney (see that church), and was in all respects rendered an independent parish. The architecture is an original and massive style, like all of its eminent architect, and the spire of towe is eminently picturesque.

'The church is a rectory, the patronage of which, like that of Stepney, is in the Principals and Scholars of King's Hall and Brazenose College Oxford. It is in the county of Middlesex, in the diocese of London, exempt from archidiaconal visitation... There is a district church [Note: see below list of chapels in this parish] now building in the parish, the patronage of which will be in the rector of the parish.'

1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect. In “A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions,” (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted.

Here is a complete list of all those district churches and chapelries lying within the boundaries of St George in the East, St George:

  • St George in the East, Christ Church Watney Street- 1841
  • St George in the East St Mary Cabel Street - 1842
  • Good Shepherd Chapel, Watts St Stepney - 1857
  • St George in the East w/ St. Matthew, Pell St* (Princes Square) - 1729 (see above "History"
  • St John the Evangelist in the East, Grove Street - 1870
  • St Mary, Johnson Street - 1850
  • St Peter Old Gravel Lane, London Docks - 1866 (part from Shadwell)
  • East London Mission of the Jews, Commercial Rd - 1892

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St George in the East St George parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St George in the East St George Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

St George in the East on GENUKI

References

  1. Wikipedia Wikipedia - St George in the East. Adapted. Date accessed: 30 January 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk