To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St George Hanover Square, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St George Hanover Square

Guide to St George Hanover Square, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St George Hanover Square, Middlesex
Stgeorgeshanoversquare.jpg
St Georges Hanover Square
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westminster
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union St George Hanover Square
Registration District St George Hanover Square
Records begin
Parish registers: 1725; Separate registers exist for St George Hanover Square St Peter, Palace Street beginning 1822 and also St George Hanover Square Eaton Chapel beginning 1836 and also Mayfair beginning 1735
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St George's, Hanover Square, is an Anglican church in central London, built in the early 18th century. The land on which the church stands was donated by General William Steuart, who laid the first stone in 1721. A civil parish of St George Hanover Square, and an ecclesiastical parish, were created in 1724 from part of the ancient parish of St Martin in the Fields. The boundaries of the ecclesiastical parish were adjusted in 1830, 1835 and 1865 when other parishes were carved out of it (see a list of Chapels of Ease and District Churches... within St George Hanover Square parish boundaries, below). The ecclesiastical parish still exists today and forms part of the Deanery of Westminster St Margaret in the Diocese of London (see a "List of Chapels of Ease"... under "Parish History" below with approximately 25 chapels of ease which subdivided this "fashionable" parish).

[1]

Resource[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St George Hanover Square parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St George Hanover Square Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1634-1900 Rate Books[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law[edit | edit source]

The Westminster, Poor Law and Parish Administration collection at findmypast includes:

  • 1731-1911 - St George Hanover Square, Workhouses
  • 1885-1900 - St George Hanover Square, Valuations


Parish History[edit | edit source]

'St George Hanover Square, the church of, is situated on the east side of Great George Street and the corner of Maddox Street. It was built by Gibbs, in 1724, as one of fifty new churches voted by parliament, and was dedicated, in compliment to the reigning King, to St George. It has a plain substantial body, with an elegant portco of the Corinthian order, and a handsome bell tower. The ground upon which this church stands was given by Lieutenant-General William Stewart, who also bequeathed £4,000 towards erecting and endowing a charity school.

'The parish was taken from that of St Martin in the Fields, and is a rectory in the patronage of the Bishop of London, is in the county of Middlesex, in the diocese of London and in the Archdeaconry of Middlesex.

St George Hanover Square was considered to be, from the time of its construction, one of the illustrious parishes in the region. Well over a hundred thousand couples, young and old, flocked to its altars in order to be married in what was considered to be one of the more 'fashionable' churches (near St James Palace), in all of Greater London.[3]

1848 parish description
St. George, Hanover Square is a parish, in the city and liberty of Westminster. The patron is the Bishop.
Grosvenor Square is a parish, in the city and liberty of Westminster. The patron is the Rector and Churchwardens of St. George’s.

Hanover District Chapel, Regent St. is a parish, in the city and liberty of Westminster. The patron is the Rector of St. George’s.
St. Mark’s District Chapel is a parish, in the city and liberty of Westminster. The patron is the Rector of St. George’s.[4]

Chapels of Ease and District Churches attached to and subdividing the Parish (boundary) of St George Hanover Square

Associated with St George Hanover Square (est. 1725), were its numerous chapelries and later district churches built within its ecclesiastical boundary, some of which whose (chapel) registers are of ancient derivation nearly predating those of St George's, and of which are given due consideration below:

  • All Saints, Grosvenor Road, Pimlico. Chapel-of-Ease to St Gabriel Warwick Square (1863); closed in 1967.
  • Belgrave Chapel - see St John Belgrave Square below
  • Berkeley Chapel, John Street, Berkeley Square, Mayfair [by at least 1810; became St Saviour's in 1864]. Proprietary (Episcopal) Chapel - became: St. Mary, Bourdon Street. Chapel-of-Ease to St.Geo.Han.Sq.[in 1882]. Closed 1939.
  • Charlotte Chapel [1766] (See under "Pimlico" in the Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales at Vision of Britain)
  • Christ Church, Down Street, Mayfair [1865]
  • Curzon Chapel, Curzon Street, Mayfair. Proprietary (Episcopal) Chapel. Successor to the Mayfair Chapel, the marriage shop of the infamous Dr. Keith who defied church and state authority, with his assistants conducting 7,000-plus clandestine marriages c.1730 until activities were stopped by the Lord Hardwicke Marriage Act of 1753. The registers were kept at the mother parish church (St.George's Hanover Square), and the Bishop's Transcripts to the diocesan registry. Ceased operation by 1894.
  • Eaton Chapel, Eaton Terrace. Proprietary (Episcopal) Chapel. [1836?] closed about 1901  
  • Ebury Chapel [a proprietary Episcopal chapel] of ease [prior to 1870] 
  • Grosvenor Chapel, South Audley Street [1730] - Still open
  • Hanover Church, Regent Street [1823] became district church, then replaced by: St. Anselm, Davies Street, Berkeley Square. [Separate parish 1899?] - closed 1938, Parish united to Hanover Square and St. Mark, North Audley Street. Is now gone.
  • St Barnabas, Church Street, Pimlico [1850] Later became a separate parish - Still open
  • St John's Chapel, Pimlico Road. Chapel-of-Ease to above.
  • St Gabriel, Warwick Square, Pimlico [1852] - Still open
  • St George's Chapel, Albermarle Street. Proprietary (Episcopal) Chapel [1740?] Licensed for marriages 1899-1909. Registers survive 1888-1909.
  • St John, Belgrave Square. Proprietary Chapel [by 1870]. Possibly the same as: Belgrave Chapel Halkin Street [1898-1910].
  • St John the Evangelist, Wilton Road Chapel-of-Ease to above [1874?] Closed 1942?
  • St Mark, North Audley Street [1828]. Parish united to St.George Hanover Square 1968. Church closed c.1980. leased to Commonwealth Church 1995.
  • St Mary, Graham Street [now Bourne Street] [1909] Still open
  • St Michael, Chester Square [1846] - Still open
  • St Philip, Buckingham Palace Road [1888]. Separate parish 1890. Closed 19?? [war damage??] United with previous 1953.
  • St Paul, Wilton Place [Knightsbridge] [1843] - Still open
  • St Peter, Eaton Square [1827] - Still open
  • St Peter, Buckingham Gate/Palace Street Chapel-of-Ease [1822?] closed 1921?
  • St Saviour's (for Deaf and Dumb) Chapel, Oxford Street
  • St Saviour, St George's Square, Pimlico. [1864] still open.
  • Trinity Chapel, Conduit Street [1691] chapel of ease, closed 1875.

Taken from:

1. Genuki.org.uk at http://homepages.gold.ac.uk/genuki/MDX/Westminster/churches.htm

2. British History Online at: www.British-History.ac.uk

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Wikipedia - St_George_Hanover_Square. Adapted. Date accessed: 30 January 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  3. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  4. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013