St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St George Botolph Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate

London St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate, London
Stbotolphbillingsgatesite.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1546; Separate registers exist for St Botolph Billingsgate beginning 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1801; Separate records exist for St Botolph Billingsgate beginning 1620-31; 1639-40; 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

St Botolph Billingsgate Timeline

  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London
  • 1666 - never rebuilt; united with St George Botolph-Lane Parish[1]

St George Botolph-Lane Timeline

  • 1180 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church badly damaged by Great Fire of London
  • 1666 - united with St Botolph Billingsgate Parish[1]
  • 1671-1676 - church rebuilt
  • 1904 - church demolished

1831 description

"St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate, the church of, is situated a few houses on the right from Little Eastcheap. It derives its name from the ancient English Saint George of Cappadocia. It is an ancient rectory...and was originally in the gift of the Abbott and convent of St. Saviour Bermondsey, at whose dissolution it came to the crown.  The old church was burned down in 1666, and the present edifice erected in 1674, by Sir Christopher Wren.  The exterior is in a handsome old style, and decorated with some well executed sculpture; the interior is composed of the nave and two aisles, separated like columns of the composite order, which support a handsome vaulted roof.  It is 54 feet in length, 36 in breadth, and 36 in height.  After the fire, the parish of St. Botolph, (see that church [St Botolph Billingsgate]), was united by act of Parliament to this parish.  That parish was also a rectory, the advowson of which was anciently in lay hands, but in 1194 was successfully claimed by the Dean and chapter of St. Paul's, under a deed of gift from Odgarus.  It continued with them till its union with St. George, when the patronage was exerted by them and the crown, alternately.  It is in the city and Archdeaconry of London..."[2]

1848 parish description:

St. Boloph, Billingsgate with St. George, Botolph-lane are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Additional jurisdictions

St Botolph Billingsgate Parish was also known as St Botolph by Billingsgate Parish.

Resources

Church records

St George Botolph-Lane and St Botolph Billingsgate were originally two individual parishes. Each maintained separate parish registers.

St Botolph Billingsgate parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Botolph Billingsgate Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1629-1845
ANC 1 1630-1640, 1685-1812 1630-1640, 1685-1812 1630-1640, 1685-1812 1630-1640, 1685-1812 1630-1640, 1685-1812 1630-1640, 1685-1812
ANC 2 1818-1854 1818-1854 1784-1834 1784-1834 1824-1827, 1841-1849 1824-1827, 1841-1849
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1685-1812, 1813-1874




FS Catalog PRs
1685-1875, 1800-1809
1685-1875, 1800-1809
1685-1875, 1800-1809
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1640
1629-1640
1629-1640

St George Botolph-Lane parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St George Botolph-Lane Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1397-1848
ANC 1 1546-1812 1546-1812 1546-1812 1546-1812 1546-1812 1546-1812
ANC 2 1813-1891 1813-1891 1754-1890 1754-1890 1813-1843 1813-1843
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1813-1874
1754-1883


FS Catalog PRs
1547-1891, 1654-1720
1547-1891, 1654-1720
1547-1891, 1654-1720
FS Catalog BTs
1812-1837
1812-1837
1812-1837

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

St Mary at Hill.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Billingsgate, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St George, Botolph Lane, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Billingsgate, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St George, Botolph Lane, Billingsgate, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Billingsgate, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • S. Botolph, Billingsgate (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20. Banks excluded the list of strangers.
  • St George, Botolph Lane, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1628 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Billingsgate, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/563); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St George, Botolph Lane, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/563); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Billingsgate, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/583); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Botolph Billingsgate churchyard site
Transcripts of early St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[11]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St George Botolph Lane churchyard.[12]

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Botolph Billingsgate Parish the unique surname Billingsgate.[13]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St George Botolph Lane
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Botolph Billingsgate

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  12. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  13. Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.