St Gennys, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to St Gennys, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Gennys, Cornwall|
Saint Gennys ParishChurchCornwall
|Poor Law Union||Stratton|
|Parish registers: 1702|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1612|
|Rural Deanery||Trigg Major|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GENNYS, ST. (St. German), a parish, in the union of Stratton, hundred of Lesnewth, E. division of Cornwall, 10 miles N by E from Camelford.
St Gennys St Genesius is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish include: Brockhill.
Several places in the parish are mentioned in the Domesday Book including Crackington (as Crachemua), Dizzard (as Disart} and St Gennys itself (as Sainguinas or Sanwinas)
The parish church is dedicated to Saint Genesius. The building is partly Norman with a short one-stage tower topped by a pyramidal roof. The tower houses a ring of four bells. The church was restored in 1871. The arcades of the aisles are partly in granite and partly in Polyphant stone.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
St Gennys, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|St Gennys, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 67
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for St Gennys .
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
St Gennys in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291.Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.