St Ethelburga, London Genealogy
London St Ethelburga ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Ethelburga, London|
|Hundred||London, Within the Walls|
|Poor Law Union||City of London|
|Registration District||London City|
|Parish registers: 1671|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1800|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of London|
|Location of Archive|
|London Record Office|
- 1 Parish History
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Church records
- 2.2 Census records
- 2.3 Civil Registration
- 2.4 Probate records
- 2.5 Cemetery
- 2.6 Records of the Poor
- 3 Maps and Gazetteers
- 4 Websites
- 5 References
Parish History[edit | edit source]
"St Ethelburga, the church of, is situated on the eastern side of Bishopsgate Street, near to the corner of Little St. Helens. It derives its name from being dedicated to the memory of the first Christian princes of the Anglo-Saxon race, the daughter of Ethelbert, king of can't (sic), embracing the Christian religion became the patron on St. Augustin (sic), the English apostle. As church escaped the ravages of the great fire, in 1666, and is an irregular building in the ancient English style. The advowson of his church, which is a rectory, was in the prioress and nuns on St. Helen, tumor suppression of the religious houses in 1539. It then came to the crown, and was granted by Queen Elizabeth I to the Bishop of London and his successors, with whom it still continues. It is in the city in the archdeacon read of London."
The parish was also known as St Ethelburga Bishopsgate Parish, alternatively spelled St Ethelburga Bishops Gate Parish. It belonged to Bishopsgate Ward.
St. Ethelburga is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Bishop. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Cobb published the parish registers of St Ethelburga, but his book has not yet been digitised:
- Cobb, W.F., ed. The Registers of the Church of St. Ethelburga the Virgin within Bishopsgate. The Church, 1915. Includes baptisms (1671-1914), marriages (1679-1915), burials (1672-1849).
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Ethelburga, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/139); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Ethelburga, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
1611 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St. Ethelburga (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/480); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.
1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- St Ethelburga, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/511); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]
1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Before 1858, St Ethelburga fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Cemetery[edit | edit source]
- Transcripts of early St Ethelburga, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.
- A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Ethelburga churchyard.
Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]
During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Ethelburga Parish the unique surname Ethelburga.
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- St. Ethelburga's Centre (official website). History, photographs, visitor directions.
- London Family History Centre Catalogue
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Ethelburga')
References[edit | edit source]
- James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.
- London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Ethelburga, Bishopsgate in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Ethelburga Bishopsgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Ethelburga Bishopsgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Ethelburga Bishopsgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- Batches C021641-C021642, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- Batches M021641-M021642, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:27.
- "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
- Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.