St Dunstan in the West, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
St Dunstan in the West
England
London
London Parishes
St Dunstan in the West

Guide to St Dunstan in the West, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Dunstan in the West, London
St Dunstan in the West (1842)
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Without the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union West London
Registration District West London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

St Dunstan in the West
"St Dunstan in the West, the church of, is situated on the north side of the west end of Fleet Street, where it has been long known as a grievous incumbrance to Hackney and stage coachmen, drivers of omnibuses, and country females. But as it is about to be taken down, to the infinite regret of the city pickpockets, any description of it is unnecessary. It, however, unfortunately for the public, narrowly escaped destruction by the great fire of 1666, the flames having been stopped within three houses of its walls. It has been several times repaired, but it will, ere long,...be removed. It is a church of very ancient foundation, in the gift of the abott and convent of Westminster, who in 1237 gave it to Henry III towards the maintenance of the foundation of the house called the Rolls, for the reception of converted Jews. It was afterwards conveyed to the abbot and convent of Alnwick, in Northumberland, in whom it continued till the dissolution of the religious houses by Henry VIII. Edward VI granted the advowson of this church under the name of a vicarage to Lord Dudley. Soon after this, the rectory and vicarage were granted to Sir Richard Sackville, and the impropriation has ever since remained in private hands."[1]
  • An Historical Account of the Constitution of the Vestry of the Parish of St. Dunstan's in the West, London. London: John Morphew, 1714. Digital version at Google Books.

1848 description

St. Dunstan-in-the-West is a parish, in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is Trustees of the late Rev. Charles Simeon. It is a part of the West London union.[2]

Resources

Church records

St Dunstan in the West parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[3][4]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Dunstan in the West Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1726-1856
FMP Bur



1541-1856
ANC 1 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1928 1754-1928 1813-1850, 1880-1885 1813-1850, 1880-1885
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1565-1656, 1669-1681, 1681-1698,
1708-1721, 1721-1739, 1739-1771,
1771-1794, 1794-1812, 1813-1832,
1818-1830

1645-1739, 1800-1830, 1818-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1516-1953
1516-1953
1516-1953
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1640, 1799-1840
1639-1640, 1799-1840
1639-1640, 1799-1840

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

NOTE: The parish of St. Dunstan in the West during the mid 1700's has quite a few christening entries for Black people, for people born in other countries such as America and the Philipines, and for foundlings.  It might be helpful to also be aware that there are entries with a child's name and the parents' given names but no surname.  There are three times that this happened between 1758 and 1768.

Census

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Dunstan in the West, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/145); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Dunstan in the West, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

Holy Trinity Gough Square.png

1589 Subsidy

FamilySearch Books Online

1622 Subsidy

  • St Dunstan in the West, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/505); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Dunstan in the West, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/537); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1646 Subsidy

  • St Dunstan in the West, Farringdon Ward Without, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 12); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Dunstan in the West Parish are available online.


Before 1858, St Dunstan in the West, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Dunstan in the West churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Dunstan in the West, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[11]

A survey of monumental brasses, published 1891, is available online.[12]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Dunstan in the West churchyard.[13]

St Dunstan in the West Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (17+ entries)

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.
  3. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  12. Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.
  13. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=St_Dunstan_in_the_West,_London_Genealogy&oldid=3555728"