St Day, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to St Day, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Day, Cornwall|
St Day Cornwall
|Poor Law Union||Redruth|
|Parish registers: 1833|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DAY, ST., a chapelry, in the parish of Gwennap, union of Redruth, hundred of Kerrier, county of Cornwall, 7 miles (W.) from Truro. The Baptists, Bryanites, and Wesleyans have places of worship. 
St Day (Cornish: Sen Day) is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1829 from chapelry in Gwennap, CornwallAncient Parish.
The parish was originally a chapelry of Gwennap but became independent in 1835. As early as the 13th century there was a chapel of the Holy Trinity at St Day and even earlier there had been one of St Day which was a great centre of pilgrimage. The saint commemorated here is probably the Breton saint Dei.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
St Day parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|St Day Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
St Day in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-23. Date accessed: 23 March 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.