To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar

London St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar, London
St Martin Orgar
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for St Martin Orgar beginning 1624
Bishop's Transcripts: 1801; Separate records exist for St Martin Orgar beginning 1629-31; 1639-40; 1801-1808
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Clement Eastcheap

"St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar, the church of, is situated on the east side of St Clement's Lane, which forms the western extremity of Eastcheap. This church is dedicated to the same saint and pope as the last, and derives its addition from its situation. The date of its foundation is at present unknown, but William de Southlee appears to have been its rector prior to 1309, and before the suppression of religious houses, it was in the gift of the aboot and brethren of the convent of St Peter, Westminster. Queen Mary, however, in the first year of her reign, gave the advowson of this church to the Bishop of London and his successor in that see for ever, with whom it...remains, as hereafter mentioned.


"The ancient church burned down in 1666, and the present erected by Sir Christopher Wren in 1686. It is a neat plain and appropriate but unpretending building, of the Composite order, with a square tower and a balustrade. The interior is well arranged and neatly pewed, is sixty-four feet in length, forty feet in breadth, and thirty-four in height. It is a rectory, and the living was considerably augmented by having the neighbouring parish of St Martin Orgar united to it by an act of Parliament, after the fire of London.

"The Parish church of St Martin Orgar stood on the east side of St Martin's Lane, Cannon Street, and was so designated from its dedication to St Martin, and from one Ordgarus, who is generally supposed to have been the founder. This church was also a rectory, the patronage of which was granted about the 1181 by Ordgarus, with the consent of his wife and sons, to the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's, in whom, except as hereafter mentioned, it still remains. Since the union of this parish with that of St Clements, the living is presented alternately by the Bishop fo london and the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's."[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Clement Eastcheap Parish united with St Martin Orgar Parish.[2]

St Clement Eastcheap belonged to Candlewick Ward.


1848 description:

St. Clement, Eastcheap with St. Martin Orgars, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Bishop, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Clement Eastcheap and St Martin Orgar were originally two individual parishes.

St Clement Eastcheap parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
St Clement Eastcheap Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1754-1853
ANC 1 1539-1850 1539-1850 1539-1850 1539-1850 1539-1850 1539-1850
ANC 2 1802-1916 1802-1916 1755-1931 1755-1931 1802-1850 1802-1850
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


FS Catalog PRs
1539-1940, 1801-1812
1539-1940, 1801-1812
1539-1940, 1801-1812

St Martin Orgar parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Martin Orgar Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1625-1853
ANC 1 1624-1812 1624-1812 1624-1812 1624-1812 1624-1812 1624-1812
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1539-1839, 1840-1874
1539-1839


FS Catalog PRs
1624-1812
1624-1812
1624-1812
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1640
1629-1640
1629-1640

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

St Martin Orgar

Clarke published transcripts of the parish registers:[11]

  • St Clement Eastcheap christenings (1539-1839), marriages (1539-1839), and burials (1539-1853)
  • St Martin Orgar christenings (1624-1812), marriages (1625-1738), and burials (1624-1812)[12]

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Clement Eastcheap.png

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Clement, Eastcheap, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Clement, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/150); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Martin Orgar, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Martin Orgar, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/150); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin Orgar, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/222); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael, Crooked Lane and St Clement, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/222); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Clement, Eastcheap, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/223); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Edmund the King and Martyr and St Clement, Eastcheap, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Clement, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/502); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Clement, Eastcheap, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Martin Orgar, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/484); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Martin Orgar, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/502); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1623 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • S. Martin Orgar (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/536); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Clement, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/512); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Martin Orgar, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/512); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Martin Orgar, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/562); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Clement, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/579); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


1712-1885 List of Inhabitants
[edit | edit source]

1831 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1831 Census of St Clement Eastcheap exists and is held at The British Library.[13]

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Clement Eastcheap churchyard site
St Martin Orgar churchyard

Transcripts of early St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[14]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Clement Eastcheap churchyard.[15]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Martin Orgars churchyard.[15]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Clement eastcheap facade.jpg

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Clement Eastcheap Parish the unique surname Eastcheap.[16]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Clement Eastcheap
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Martin Orgar

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. A.W. Hughes Clarke, ed. The Register of St. Clement, Eastcheap, and St. Martin Orgar (Publications of the Harleian Society Parish Register Series, 1937-1938).
  12. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:27.
  13. Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 73.
  14. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  15. 15.0 15.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  16. Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.