To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Clement Danes, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to St Clement Danes, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Clement Danes, Middlesex
Westminster St Clement Danes.jpg
Westminster St Clement Danes
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division); Westminster
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Strand
Registration District Strand
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1807
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St. Clement Danes is a parish, in the city and liberty of Westminster. The patron was the Marquess of Exeter. It is a parish in the Strand poor-law union, the Precinct of the Savoy, and the Liberty of the Rolls.[1]

Additional information:

'St Clement Danes, Strand, the church of, is the first church westward of Temple Bar; it stands nearly in the middle of the street. It is supposed by most historians that it derives its name from having been dedicated in very ancient times to St Clement, a disciple of St Peter the Apostle, and the fourth Pope of Rome, who is said in Papal chronology to have been created Pope in the year of Christ 91, and died about the year 100. Baker in his chronicles says it received the epithet "Danes" from having been the burial place of Harold the Dane. William of Malmsbury mentions a great conquest over the Danes near this spot, where many were slain in a place since called Clement the Danes; but Fleetwood, the antiquary, who was Recorder of London in the reign of Elizabeth, reported to the Lord Treasurer Burleigh, who resided in this parish, that when most of the Danes were driven out of this kingdom, those few that remained were permitted to settle and to marry English wives, and had the district between Thorney Isle, now called Westminster, and Caer Lud, Ludgate, assigned to them, where they built a church that was afterwards consecrated and called after them and the before-mentioned saint--Ecclesia Clementis Danorum.

'The old church was taken down in 1680, and the body of the present church was rebuilt to the old tower by Sir Christopher Wren, in 1682. By an inscription on a slab of white marble in the north aisle it appears that Sir Christopher Wren gave valuable services, when he stood alone in this country as an architect, to the parish, gratiutously. Generosity a nd liberality are among the most prominent features of that great man's character.

'In the year 1719, when Wren was in his ninetieth year, when Steele published his beautiful and appropriate apologue of Nestor, concerning the ungrateful neglect of Wren; Gibbs,no unworthy follower, added the present lofty, picturesque and handsome tower and steeple to this church.

'The church is very handsome structure, built entirely of solid stone, lighted by two stories of windows, and has a commodious and well arranged interior, ninety six feet in length, sixty-three in breadth and forty-eight in height. It is a rectory, in the City of Westminster, in the diocese of London and in the county and archdeaconry of Middlesex. The patronage was anciently in the Knights Templars; but after passing through several hands, it came into the family of the Earls of Exeter, with whom it remained till recently. Gilbert's Clerical Guide, which is generally received as good authority, gives the [then, current--as of 1831] patronage to "Lord St. Helen's, & C...'[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Clement Danes parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Clement Danes Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1634-1900 Rate Books[edit | edit source]
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law records[edit | edit source]

The Westminster, Poor Law and Parish Administration collection at findmypast includes:

  • 1605-1836 - St Clement Danes, Paupers
  • 1640-1829 - St Clement Danes, Apprentice records
  • 1677-1860 - St Clement Danes, Workhouses
  • 1703-1742 - St Clement Danes, Examinations
  • 1786-1828 - St Clement Danes, Bastardy records

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Clement Danes

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk