St Botolph without Bishopsgate, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Botolph without Bishopsgate

London St Botolph without Bishopsgate ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Botolph without Bishopsgate, Middlesex
Londonstbotolphbishopgate.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Without the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union East London
Registration District East London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

St Botolph without Bishopsgate
"St Botolph without Bishopsgate, the church of, is situated on the Westside Bishopsgate Street Without and nearly opposite the western end of Houndsditch.  The ancient Church of this name was of very ancient foundation, and received its name from the before mentioned Anglo-Saxon Saint, who died about the year 680.  The first authentic account of this church is in 1323, when John de Northhampton resigned rectorship which then was and still is in the gift of the Bishop of London.  The old church which stood upon the bank of the ancient city ditch escaped the fire of London but became so ruinous that it was taken down in 1726, and rebuilt from the designs of the elder George Dance. Was finished in 1729, and is a spacious, substantial, and well-built structure.  The spire is peculiarly handsome, and with that of Shoreditch, by the same architect, among the best since the days of Wren.  The east end, which is next the street, is decorated with Doric pilasters, and a large window, with entrance doors at the sides, which excited much criticism at the time of its completion.  It arises from the circumstances of necessity of placing the altar always at the east end, which, in this instance deprived the principal front of the advantage of a grand central door.  The living is a rectory in the gift of the King and the Bishop of London..."[1]

1848 parish description
St. Botolph without Bishopsgate is a parish as well as All Saints Chapel ,  are in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is the Bishop.[2]

Resources

Church records

St Botolph without Bishopsgate parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
GOOGLE = Google Books - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[3][4]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[10]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Botolph without Bishopsgate Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
GOOGLE
1628-1690


1628-1752
FMP



1753-1855
FMP Bur



1713-1761
ANC 1 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
ANC 2 1859-1869 1859-1869 1833-1931 1833-1931 1813-1866 1813-1866
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1558-1690


1628-1752
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1558-1725, 1680-1701, 1701-1717,
1717-1741, 1741-1843, 1753-1779,
1780-1812, 1843-1874

1558-1818, 1818-1846


FS Catalog PRs
1559-1901
1559-1901
1559-1901
FS Catalog BTs
1639-1640
1639-1640
1639-1640

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Hallen, A.W. Cornelius. An Account of the Old Registers of St. Botolph Bishopsgate. London, 1886. Digital version at Internet Archive.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Bishopsgate, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/139); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • Houndsditch, Portsoken Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/148), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
St Botolph without Bishopsgate.png

1564 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Bishopsgate, Garland Alley, and Gun Alley, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • Houndsditch, Portsoken Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1625 Subsidy

  • St Botolph, Bishopsgate, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/511); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1811 Census

The 1811 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[12]

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Botolph Bishopsgate Parish are available online.


Before 1858, St Botolph without Bishopsgate, Middlesex Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records.

Over the years, St Botolph without Bishopsgate has belonged to several civil registration districts:

Period
District
1837-1838
Bishopsgate Registration District
1838-1870
East London Registration District
1870-1974
London City Registration District[13]

There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Cemetery

St Botolph Bishopsgate churchyard

Transcripts of early St Botolph without Bishopsgate, Middlesex Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[14]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Botolph Bishopsgate churchyard.[15]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Botolph without Bishopsgate

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  3. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68.
  13. "Registration Districts in England and Wales (1837-1974)," GENUKI, http://www.ukbmd.org.uk/genuki/reg/districts/index.html, accessed 13 January 2012.
  14. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  15. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=St_Botolph_without_Bishopsgate,_Middlesex_Genealogy&oldid=3555488"