St Botolph Without Aldgate with Holy Trinity Minories, Middlesex Genealogy
Guide to St Botolph Without Aldgate with Holy Trinity Minorities, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Botolph Without Aldgate with Holy Trinity Minories, Middlesex|
London StBotolph Aldgate Church
|Hundred||London, Without the Walls|
|Poor Law Union||Whitechapel|
|Registration District||East London|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1802|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of London|
|Location of Archive|
|London Record Office|
- 1 Parish History
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Church records
- 2.2 Census records
- 2.2.1 1547 Subsidy
- 2.2.2 1564 Subsidy
- 2.2.3 1582 Subsidy
- 2.2.4 1596 Subsidy
- 2.2.5 1625 Subsidies
- 2.2.6 1638 Inhabitants List
- 2.2.7 1666 Hearth Tax
- 2.2.8 1690-1698 Poll Tax Assessments
- 2.2.9 1692-1932 Land Taxes
- 2.2.10 1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid
- 2.2.11 1695 Marriage Duty Act Tax
- 2.2.12 1744-1825 Land Tax Assessments
- 2.3 Civil Registration
- 2.4 Probate Records
- 2.5 Cemetery
- 2.6 Records of the Poor
- 3 Maps and Gazetteers
- 4 Websites
- 5 References
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Holy Trinity Minories Timeline[edit | edit source]
- 1600s - church fell into disrepair
- 1706 - church rebuilt
- 1899 - united with St Botolph Without Aldgate Parish
- 1940 - church bombed and destroyed
St Botolph Without Aldgate Timeline[edit | edit source]
- 1115 - first mentioned
- 1500s - church rebuilt
- 1741-1744 - church again rebuilt
- 1899 - united with Holy Trinity Minories Parish
- 1940s - church bombed in WWII, restored
- 1965 - a fire damaged the church, restored
1831 descriptions[edit | edit source]
"St Botolph, without Aldgate, the church of, is situated at the south-east corners of Houndsditch, and nearly opposite the Minories, in Aldgate High Street. It is one of the four churches in London dedicated by our ancestors to their favourite saint, Botolph the Briton. The old church, which was rebuilt by the prior and canons of the Holy Trinity, a short time before the dissolution of that convent, escaped the fire in 1666; but it had become so ruinous in 1741, that it was taken down and the present edifice finished in 1744. It is built principally with brick, and is a plain, bold and massive structure, consisting of a regular formed body and a lofty spire on a rusticated tower. This church was a rectory of very ancient foundation, ...It is now a perpetual curacy..."
"Holy Trinity Minories, the church of, it is situated in the Little Minories. It stands on part of the ancient convent of the nuns of St. Clare called the Minoresses, that was founded in 1239 by Edmund Earl of Lancaster, brother of Edward I. This being suppressed, in 1539 a number of houses were erected on its site, and a small church was built for the inhabitants, and dedicated to the Holy Trinity, whence it derived its name, its addition from this situation. This church was rebuilt in a plain substantial manner, in 1706, and is the family burial place of the Legges, Earls of Dartmouth, to one of those ancestors, a house called the Kings, was granted by Charles II. The curators parish for it is neither arbitrary nor vicarage, holds the living by an instrument of donation under the great seal of England. It is in the city, diocese and Archdeaconry of London..."
1848 parish description[edit | edit source]
St. Botolph, Aldgate, is a parish in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is R. Kynaston, Esq., the Impropriator. Trinity in the Minories, is a parish in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is the Crown.
Additional jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
St Botolph without Aldgate belonged to Aldgate Ward.
Notes[edit | edit source]
St Botolph Aldgate and Holy Trinity Minories were clandestine places of marriage in early modern London.
Holy Trinity Minories was also known as Holy Trinity in the Minories and St Clare without Aldgate.
St Botolph Without Aldgate with Holy Trinity Minories was a later district church built in 1893 and residing within the civil parish boundaries of St Botolph without Aldgate (which was also known as East Smithfield Liberty).
St Botolph's-without-Aldersgate is a Church of England church on Aldersgate Street in the City of London, dedicated to St Botolph. Of medieval origin, it survived the Great Fire of London with only minor damage but fell into disrepair and was rebuilt in 1788–91. The church was one of four in medieval London dedicated to St Botolph, a 7th-century East Anglican saint, each of which stood by one of the gates to the city. The others were St Botolph's, Billingsgate (destroyed by the Great Fire and not rebuilt); St Botolph's, Aldgate; and St Botolph's, Bishopsgate. Currently, St Botolph's without Aldersgate is used by London City Presbyterian Church, a congregation of the Free Church of Scotland, that meets there every Sunday. The ecclesiastical parish was united with that of the Church of Holy Trinity, Minories, in 1899.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Holy Trinity Minories Parish[edit | edit source]
Holy Trinity Minories marriage registers have been published for the period 1676 to 1754 by the East of London Family History Society.
St Botolph without Aldgate Parish[edit | edit source]
- Parish Clerks' Memorandum Books 1583-1625 at Rescript.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census records[edit | edit source]
1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- Holy Trinity Minories, Houndsditch, Portsoken Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/148); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- Holy Trinity Minories, precinct beneath, within London and Houndsditch, Portsoken Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Portsoken Ward - The Mynoryesat British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Portsoken Ward - St Buttolphes Parocheat British History Online
1596 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- S. Botolph without Aldgate & Minories (The National Archives, Ref: E179/146/410); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.
1625 Subsidies[edit | edit source]
- St Botolph without Aldgate, Portsoken Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/514); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
- St Botolph without Aldgate, Portsoken Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/544); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Botolph Aldgateat British History Online - free.
- Hearth Tax: Middlesex 1666 - St Botolph Aldgate at British History Online - free.
1690-1698 Poll Tax Assessments[edit | edit source]
1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]
1695 Marriage Duty Act Tax[edit | edit source]
- London Marriage Duty Assessment 1695 - St Botolph Aldgateat British History Online
- St Botolph Aldgate Poll Tax Assessments, 1690-98at London Lives.
1744-1825 Land Tax Assessments[edit | edit source]
- Holy Trinity Minories land tax assessments (1744-1825) have been microfilmed: FHL British Films.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records.
Over the years, St Botolph Aldgate has belonged to several civil registration districts:
- There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Before 1858, St Botolph without Aldgate and Holy Trinity Minories fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Officials ascribed mariners who died abroad the residence of St Botolph without Aldgate in their wills.
Cemetery[edit | edit source]
- Transcripts of early St Botolph Without Aldgate with Holy Trinity Minories, Middlesex Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.
- A survey of monumental brasses, published 1891, is available online.
- A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Botolph Aldgate churchyard.
- Find A Grave has created a page on St Botolph Without Aldgate's Churchyard (40+ entries).
Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]
- St Botolph Aldgate Parish Account Books, Pauper Payments, Pauper Examinations, Apprenticeship Records, Pauper Lists, Minute Books, Vestry Minutes, Pauper Apprentices, Poor Children Registers and Workhouse Admission Records (1600s-1800s)at London Lives
- St Botolph Aldgate Poor Law Records 1742-1868at British Origins (£). Also available in book form: FHL Book 942.21 B4r v. 41.
- During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in Holy Trinity Minories Parish the unique surname Minories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- St Botolph without Aldgate (official website). Family history tips, virtual tour, history, visitor instructions.
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Botolph Aldgate)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (Holy Trinity Minories)
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct subject searches for 'London St Botolph without Aldgate' or 'London Holy Trinity Minories')
- St Botolph Without Aldgate on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170 Adapted. Date accessed: 1 November 2013.
- Else Churchill, 'Stuck in London: resources at the SOG and elsewhere.' Presentation, Society of Genealogists, 2011. Slides available online.
- F. Youngs, Local Administrative Units: Southern England (London: Royal Historical Society, 1979), p. 299
- Wikipedia Wikipedia - St Botolph Without Aldgate. Adapted. Date accessed: 31 January 2014.
- London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Holy Trinity Minories in the City of London | St Botolph, Aldgate in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- Batch P015531, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
- John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 4 April 2013.
- Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 2:26.
- London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Botolph without Aldgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Botolph without Aldgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Botolph without Aldgate in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- Batches C025558, C006331, C006332, C006333, C006334, C006335, C006336, C006337, C006338, C006339, C025551, C025552, C025553,C025554, C025555, C025556, C025557, C025559, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- Registration Districts in England and Wales (1837-1974)," GENUKI, http://www.ukbmd.org.uk/genuki/reg/districts/index.html, accessed 13 January 2012.
- "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
- Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.
- Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.