St Botolph Aldersgate, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Botolph Aldersgate
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
St Botolph Aldersgate

Guide to St Botolph Aldersgate, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Botolph Aldersgate, Middlesex
St Botolph Aldersgate
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls; Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County London
Poor Law Union East London
Registration District East London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1638
Bishop's Transcripts: 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

"St Botolph Aldersgate, the church of, is situated at the southeast corner of Little Britain, and Aldersgate Street Without, received its name from St. Botolph, a British St. born in Cornwall, and from its contiguity to the ancient Alder's Gate.  Although the fire in 1666 did not reach the ancient church, yet it was so decayed that a part of it was rebuilt in 1757, and farther repaired and beautified in 1829.  It was anciently a rectory, the advowson of which was in the dean and canons of St. Martin's Le Grand, but being for some time unappropriated, Richard the second, in 1399, gave the income to the Dean for a perpetual anniversary for his deceased consort Queen Anne.  In 1593 Henry VII and annexed the collegiate church of St. Martin Legrand with all its appurtenances, to the convent of St. Peter Westminster; but at the suppression of monasteries it was granted by Henry VIII to his new Bishop of Westminster.  That bishopric having been dissolved by Queen Mary, and the abbot and monks restored to their convent, this church reverted to its old masters; but when the monks were finally expelled, and the convent converted into a collegiate church by the authority of Parliament in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, she granted the curacy to the dean and chapter of Westminster, in whom it still remains, subject however to the Bishop and Archdeacon of London to whom it pays procuration. The advowson is a perpetual curacy..."[1]

1848 parish description

St. Botolph, without Aldersgate is a parish, in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of Westminster, the approptiators.[2]

Also Known As

Also known as St Botolph without Aldersgate Parish.

Resources

Church records

St Botolph Aldersgate parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[3][4]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[5]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[6][7][8]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
St Botolph Aldersgate Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1726-1853
ANC 1 1640-1812 1640-1812 1640-1812 1640-1812 1640-1812 1640-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1923 1754-1923 1813-1853 1813-1853
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1640-1707, 1707-1790, 1762-1844
1754-1872


FS Catalog PRs
1640-1890
1640-1890
1640-1890

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Botolph without Aldersgate, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/137); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Botolph without Aldersgate, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/224); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

1625 Subsidy

  • St Botolph Aldersgate, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • S. Botolph, Aldersgate (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.

1638 Inhabitants List

St Botolph Aldersgate.png

1666 Hearth Tax

1667 Hearth Tax

  • St Botolph without Aldersgate, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes


Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Cemetery

St Botolph Aldersgate churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Botolph Aldersgate, Middlesex Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[10]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Botolph Aldersgate churchyard.[11]

Some gravestones from this parish burial ground have been preserved at Postman's Park. For photographs, see Wikimedia Commons.

Find A Grave has started a page about burials at St Botolph Aldersgate Parish.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records.

Over the years, St Botolph Aldersgate has belonged to several civil registration districts:

Period
District
1837-1838
Bishopsgate Registration District
1838-1870
East London Registration District
1870-1974
London City Registration District[12]

There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Botolph Aldersgate, Middlesex Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[13] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  3. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  11. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  12. "Registration Districts in England and Wales (1837-1974)," GENUKI, http://www.ukbmd.org.uk/genuki/reg/districts/index.html, accessed 13 January 2012.
  13. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.