To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf

London St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf, London
Londonstbennetpaulswharf.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1619; Separate registers exist for St Peter Paul's Wharf beginning 1607 and for Herald's College beginning 1747-82
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Peter Paul's Wharf beginning 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Benet Paul's Wharf

'St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf, Upper Thames Street, the church of, is situated at the southwest corner of St. Bennet's Hill, Doctors Common; and upper Thames Street.  Its name is derived from being dedicated to the same Saint as the last [St Bennet Gracechurch], and from its vicinity to Paul's Wharf.  This church is a very ancient foundation, and appears from the registry of Diceto, dean of St. Paul's, under the year 1181.  Its distinguishing epithet has been frequently changed, having been called at various times St. Bennet Huda, and St. Bennet, Wood Wharf, as well as by its present appellation.


'The ancient church on this site having been destroyed by the fire of London in 1666, the present building was erected in its stead by Sir Christopher Wren, who finished it in 1683.  It is a plain brick structure with some architraves travelers to the windows, and festoons over them.  The tower is at the corner, and this surmounted by a small cupola and spire, the finial of which is 118 feet from the ground.  The interior is very square, being 54 feet long, and 50 broad, by 36 in height.  Since the fire the church is also parochial for the parish of St. Peter, Paul's Wharf, anciently denominated St. Peter's parva, from the smallness of its dimensions, and to which it is united, the church of which was also destroyed at the same time.  It is a rectory, and as the patronage of both parishes appear to have been always in the dean in chapter of St. Paul's, ...'[1]

'After obtaining Archbishop's licence from Doctors Commons couples often married at nearby churches such as St Benet Paul's Wharf, St Mary Magdalen Old Fish Street or St Gregory by St Pauls.'[2]


These parishes belonged to Queenhithe Ward.


1848 parish description:

St. Bene't, Paul's Wharf with St. Peter, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's. They are parishes with the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Historically, St Benet Paul's Wharf and St Peter Paul's Wharf were two separate parishes. Each maintained individual parish registers.

St Benet Paul's Wharf parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[5][6]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[7]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[8]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[9][10][11]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[12]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[13]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Benet Paul's Wharf Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1619-1837
1619-1837
1619-1837
ARCHIVE
1619-1837
1619-1730, 1731-1837
1619-1837
FMP



1619-1853
FMP Bur



1615-1855
ANC 1 1619-1812 1619-1812 1619-1812 1619-1812 1619-1812 1619-1812
ANC 2 1813-1911 1813-1911 1754-1879 1754-1879 1813-1850 1813-1850
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1607-1882
1607-1837
1604-1837
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1619-1837, 1838-1874
1619-1879


FS Catalog PRs
1605-1979
1605-1979
1605-1979
FS Catalog BTs
1800-1872
1800-1872
1800-1872

St Peter Paul's Wharf parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Peter Paul's Wharf Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1607-1837
1607-1834


ARCHIVE
1607-1837
1607-1834
1607-1837
FMP



1726-1849
FMP Bur



1607-1837
ANC 1 1607-1812 1607-1812 1607-1812 1607-1812 1607-1812 1607-1812
ANC 2 1813-1868 1813-1868 1834-1834 1834-1834 1813-1849 1813-1849
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1607-1882
1607-1837
1607-1837
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1607-1837
1607-1834


FS Catalog PRs
1607-1837
1607-1837
1607-1837
FS Catalog BTs
1800-1872
1800-1872
1800-1872

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

St Benet Pauls Wharf.png

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Peter, Paul's Wharf, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Peter, Paul's Wharf, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Peter, Paul's Wharf, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Benet, Paul's Wharf, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Peter, Paul's Wharf, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]

(see supplements for St Peter Paul's Wharf residents) 

1811 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1811 Census exists for both places.[14]

1821 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1821 Census of St Benet Paul's Wharf exists and is held at The British Library.[14]

1831 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1831 Census exists for both places. All residents are named in the St Benet Paul's Wharf returns.[14]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Benet Paul's Wharf churchyard site
Transcripts of early St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[15]
A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Benet Paul's Wharf churchyard.[16]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Peter Paul's Wharf churchyard.[16]

Find A Grave has created a page on St Benet's Paul's Wharf Churchyard (1 entry).

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Benet Paul's Wharf
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Peter, Paul's Wharf

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Else Churchill, 'Stuck in London: resources at the SOG and elsewhere.' Presentation, Society of Genealogists, 2011. Slides available online.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848, pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  4. County and Place Records, FreeReg, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  14. 14.0 14.1 14.2 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68, 71, 73.
  15. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  16. 16.0 16.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.