To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Benet Gracechurch with St Leonard Eastcheap, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Benet Gracechurch with St Leonard Eastcheap

London St Benet Gracechurch with St Leonard Eastcheap ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Benet Gracechurch with St Leonard Eastcheap, London
Londonstbennetgracechurchstreet.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for St Leonard Eastcheap beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-31; 1639-40; 1801; Separate records exist for St Leonard Eastcheap beginning 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division); Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

'St Benet Gracechurch with St Leonard Eastcheap, the church of is situated at the southwest corner of Fenchurch Street and Grace Church Street, near the office of Lombard Street. It derives its name from its dedication to St. Benedict, or Bennett, and its vicinity to the grass market, which was anciently held before its western door.  The old church was destroyed by the great fire in 1666, and rebuilt by Sir Christopher Wren.  It is a handsome church, and of the harmonious proportions of a double cube, being 60 feet in length, 30 and breath, and 32 in height, the 2 feet in height being allowed by our great master to compensate for optical defect. It is a richly ornamented after the fashion of the day, as Hanson molded wainscot, carved pulpit and altar, and a richly carved font.  It was finished for divine service in 1685.  The exterior is finished by a handsome Corning's, a lofty blocking course, and light balustrade.  The tower begins from the ground, like all of Wren's, and the tower above the is lofty and obeliscal, beginning from five small porticos and finishing with a ball and vane.

'The church of St. Leonard Eastcheap, was also destroyed at the same time, and the present church is now the parochial church of the two united parishes.  It is a rectory, patronage of which appears to have remained in the dean and chapter of St. Paul's; but as the patronage of the rectory of St. Leonard was anciently in the priors and content of Canterbury and since the Reformation, in the dean and chapter of that city, of which it is one of the 13 players within the city, the presentation is alternately with St. Paul's in Canterbury.'[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Benet Gracechurch Parish united with St Leonard Eastcheap Parish.[2]

These parishes belonged to Bridge Ward. Some authorities spell St Benet Gracechurch as St Benet Grace Church Parish.

Both churches have been demolished.

1848 description[edit | edit source]

St. Benet's Gracechurch with St. Leonard, Eastcheap are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, and the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Benet Gracechurch church site

St Benet Gracechurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Benet Gracechurch Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1558-1730, 1754-1853
FMP Bur



1558-1851
ANC 1 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1812
ANC 2 1813-1861 1813-1861 1754-1865 1754-1865 1813-1849 1813-1849
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1730-1810, 1801-1836, 1837-1866
1730-1754, 1754-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1558-1866
1558-1866
1558-1866
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1836
1629-1836
1629-1836

St Leonard Eastcheap parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Leonard Eastcheap Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1538-1752
FMP Bur



1538-1812
ANC 1 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
ANC 2



1813-1813 1813-1813
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1538-1729, 1730-1812
1538-1705


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1812, 1802-1812
1538-1812, 1802-1812
1538-1812, 1802-1812
FS Catalog BTs
1802-1812
1802-1812
1802-1812

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

St Leonard Eastcheap church site

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Mary at Hill.png

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Benet, Gracechurch, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Benet Gracechurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Leonard, Eastcheap, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Leonard, Eastcheap, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Benet, Gracechurch, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Leonard, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/222); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • All Hallows, Lombard Street and St Benet, Gracechurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Benet, Gracechurch, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/484); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Benet, Gracechurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Leonard, Eastcheap, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/484); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Leonard, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/502); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Benet, Gracechurch, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/562); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Leonard, Eastcheap, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/562); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Benet Gracechurch Parish are available online.


Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, St Benet Gracechurch fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London and St Leonard Eastcheap fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Deanery of the Arches. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry for both places.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Transcripts of early St Benet Gracechurch with St Leonard Eastcheap, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[12]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Benet Gracechurch Parish the unique surname Gracechurch.[13]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Leonard Eastcheap
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Benet Gracechurch

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.129-170 Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  13. Nathan W. Murphy, 'London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland,' The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.