St Bees, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to St Bees, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|St Bees, Cumberland|
|Hundred||Allerdale above Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Whitehaven|
|Registration District||Bootle; Whitehaven|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1676|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BEES, ST. (St. Bega), a parish, in the union of Whitehaven, Allerdale ward above Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 2¾ miles (W. by N.) from Egremont.
The parish boundary was changed in 2010. A map showing the old and new parish boundaries, overlaid on a detailed map of the parish showing all field boundaries is online
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
St Bees parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|St Bees Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- Protestant Dissenters
- Roman Catholic
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- England Jurisdictions 1851 *Vision of Britain
- 2010 Parish Boundary Changes, overlaid on detailed map of parish
Websites[edit | edit source]
St Bees on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.