To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Bartholomew Moor Lane, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

London St Bartholomew Moor Lane ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Bartholomew Moor Lane, London
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Without the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union East London
Registration District East London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Gotoarrow.png See also: St Bartholomew by Exchange which was demolished in 1832, with St Bartholomew Moor Lane built in its place.

In 1838, the Royal Exchange, which had also been rebuilt after the Great Fire, burnt down. In order to improve access to the site of the Exchange, the Corporation of London petitioned Parliament for permission to demolish St. Bartholomew-by-the-Exchange – as well as the neighbouring St. Benet Fink, so that Threadneedle Street may be widened. This was granted and the church demolished in 1840.

The parish was combined with that of St Margaret Lothbury and proceeds of the sale of the site were used to build St. Bartholomew Moor Lane. This church, designed by Charles Robert Cockerell, was a replica of St. Bartholomew-by-the-Exchange and included much of its furnishings.[1]

1848 description[edit | edit source]

Bartholomew (St.) Moor Lane was consecrated April, 1850. After St. Bartholomew's by the Exchange had been taken down. The parish united to St. Giles Cripplegate. [2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census[edit | edit source]

Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

St Bartholomew Moor Lane parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[3][4][5]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
St Bartholomew Moor Lane Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1850-1854, 1886-1897 1850-1854, 1886-1897 1850-1899 1850-1899

ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1850-1874




FS Catalog PRs
1850-1901
1850-1901
1850-1901

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

For church records also see: St Bartholomew by the Exchange.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

St Giles without Cripplegate.png

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 30 December 2013.
  3. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.