To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Barnabas in St Marylebone, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Barnabas in St Marylebone

Guide to St Barnabas in St Marylebone, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MARYLEBONE, a parish, a district, and a borough, in Middlesex. The parish forms a compact portion of the metropolis; lies on the Regents canal, the Northwestern railway, and the Metropolitan railway, 3 miles NW by W of St. Pauls; is bounded, on the N, by Primrose-hill and Queens-road,-on the E, by Cleveland-street and part of Regents-park,-on the S, by Oxford-street,-on the W, by Edgware-road; includes the suburbs of St. John's Wood and Portland-Town; and has several stations on the railways, and numerous post offices ‡ and postal pillarboxes under London W and London N W. The parish comprises 9 chapelries. The 9 chapelries: Parish chapel, St. John's-Park-road, St. James', Portmanchapel, Brunswick-chapel, Quebec-chapel, St. Peter's under All Souls, St. Paul's under All Souls, and Christchapel-St. John's Wood. Patron of St. Marylebone, All Souls, Christchurch, Trinity, St. Mary-Bryanstone-square, St. John's-Park-road, St. James', St. Thomas-Portman-square, St. Peter under All Souls, St. Paul under All Souls,St. Barnabas, St. Mark, and Brunswick-chapel, the Crown; of Parish chapel, the Rector of St. Marylebone; of St. Luke, the Rector of St. Mary-Bryanstone-square; of Portman-chapel, Proprietors; of St. Paul-Lisson-grove, St. Matthew Maida-hill, Quebec-chapel, and Christ-chapel-St. John's Wood, Trustees; of All Saints-Margaret-street and St. Stephen's-Portland-Town, the Bishop of London; of St. Andrew's, alternately the Crown and the Bishop; of All Saints-St. John's Wood, Col. Eyre. The places of worship within the parish, in 1851, were 20 of the Church of England, 1 of English Presbyterians, ' 1 of United Presbyterians, 6 of Independents, 5 of Baptists, 1 of Unitarians, 4 of Wesleyan Methodists, 1 of Primitive Methodists, 2 of the Wesleyan Association, 1 of Calvinistic Methodists, 1 undefined, 1 of the Catholic and Apostolic church, 3 of Roman Catholics, 1 of the Greek church, and 1 of Jews.[1]

Additional information:

St Barnabas, Bell Street was built in 1866 and resided within the civil parish boundaries of St Marylebone.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Barnabas in St Marylebone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Barnabas in St Marylebone Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

St Barnabas in St Marylebone on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Bartholomew Descriptive Gazetteer Entry for MARYLEBONE. Adapted. Date accessed: 31 January 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk