St Augustine with St Faith, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Augustine with St Faith

London St Augustine with St Faith ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Augustine with St Faith, London
St augustine watling street.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for St Faith under St Paul's beginning 1645
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-31; 1800; Separate records exist for St Faith under St Paul's beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral and Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

St Faith church site
"St Augustine with St Faith, Old Change. This church is situated behind number 35, St. Paul's churchyard, and at the corner of Watling Street, in the ward of Farringdon Within. It is dedicated to St. August and or Austin the monk, the English apostle.  The old church having suffered by the fire of London, was rebuilt by Sir Christopher Wren, in 1683.  The interior is of the Ionic order, 51 feet long, 45 broad and 30 hi.  Owing to the smallness of the parishes, that of St. Faith's is united to it, and they are a rectory, the advowson of which is in the dean in Chapter St. Paul's, in whose patronage it appears always to have been, for it is mentioned in their books as early as the year in 1181..."[1]


St Augustine Parish was part of Bread Street Ward. Only the church tower survives for St Augustine's today.[2] Also known as St Austin Parish, as well as St Augustine Watling Street Parish.

St Faith Parish is also known as St Faith under St Pauls. The parish church has been demolished.

1848 description

St. Augustine, Watling-street, with St. Faith, are parishes in the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is, the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's. These are  parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]



Resources

Church records

St Augustine parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[6]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[7]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[8][9][10]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Augustine Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1754-1853
FMP Bur



1559-1812
ANC 1 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1931 1754-1931 1813-1839 1813-1839
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1559-1812, 1810-1880, 1813-1874
1559-1754


FS Catalog PRs
1559-1940
1559-1940
1559-1940
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1631
1629-1631
1629-1631

St Faith parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St Faith Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1645-1853
FMP Bur



1645-1812
ANC 1 1645-1812 1645-1812 1645-1812 1645-1812 1645-1812 1645-1812
ANC 2 1813-1900 1813-1900 1813-1837 1813-1837 1813-1853 1813-1853
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1645-1874




FS Catalog PRs
1645-1853
1645-1853
1645-1853
FS Catalog BTs
1813-1852
1813-1852
1813-1852

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

St Benet Pauls Wharf.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Augustine, Watling Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Augustine, Watling Street, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Faith under St Paul's, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Faith under St Paul's, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Faith under St Paul's, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Augustine, Watling Street, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Augustine, Watling Street, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Augustine, Watling Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidies

  • St Faith under St Paul's, Castle Baynard Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/546); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Faith under St Paul's, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/555); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • St Faith under St Pauls, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 14); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Faith fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral. St Augustine fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Augustine residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[12] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Transcripts of early St Augustine with St Faith, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Faith under St. Paul's
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Augustine Watling Street

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. "St Augustine with St Faith (Tower only)", Friends of The City Churches, accessed 18 October 2011.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.