To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Antholin with St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Antholin with St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook

London St Antholin with St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Antholin with St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook, London
Stantholin.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for St John the Baptist Wallbrook beginning 1682; 1686-1812
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St John the Baptist Wallbrook beginning 1629-30; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division); Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Antholin church spire

St Antholin Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1119 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London
  • 1678-1684 - church rebuilt; united with St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook Parish[1]
  • 1875 - church demolished

St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1100s - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London; never rebuilt; united with St Antholin Parish[1]

1831 description[edit | edit source]

'St Antholin with St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook [sometimes called, St Anthony's Church], Budge Row, is at the southwest corner of Size Lane, Bucklersbury, and Budge Row, Queen Street, Cheapside, which runs in a direct line from Watling Street to Canon Street. It was erected by Sir Christopher Wren in 1682 and although it has no great pretensions to taste, it is a scientific, well-constructed church. The interior is of the Tuscan order, is 66 feet long, 54 four feet broad, and 44 high. The roof is in the form all of an elliptical cupola, enlightened by four lantern windows, and supported by columns of the composite order. The steeple is composed of a plain solid tower, and an octagonal spire, with a Corinthian capital by way of a fintial, is to formal for such an ornament... This church receives its name from St. Anthony, an Egyptian hermit and founder of the order of Eremites of St. Anthony.  The time of its foundation is not known; but that it is of great antiquity appears from its being in the gift of the canons of St. Paul, in 1181. It was rebuilt, in 1399, by Thomas Knolles, Lord Mayor of London; again, in 1513, by John Tait, Mercer. In 1616 it was repaired and beautified at the expense of 1000 pounds, raised by the contributions of several minutes but parishioners; but being destroyed by the fire of London in 1666 it was rebuilt in 1682, as before mentioned. To this parish is annexed that of St. John the Baptist, whose church, before the fire of London, stood close by Walbrook. The canons of St. Paul words patrons, and gave it to the convent of St. Helen, and whom they continue till the suppression of their merry, when the default to the crown, in which it still remains, so that the presentation to the United parishes is alternately end, the crown, and Dean in chapter St. Paul's.'[2]


St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook Parish was part of Walbrook Ward. St Antholin belonged to Cordwainer Ward.


Also known as St Anthony Parish, as well as St Antholin Budge Row Parish. The church was demolished in 1875, but the spire has been preserved.[3]


1848 description[edit | edit source]

St Antholin with St John the Baptist are parishes in the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[4]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Antholin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[6][7]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[8]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[9]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[10][11][12]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = London Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[13]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[14]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Antholin Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1745
1538-1754s
1538-1745
ARCHIVE
1538-1754
1538-1754
1538-1754
FMP



1754-1853
FMP Bur



1538-1753
ANC 1 1538-1819 1538-1819 1538-1819 1538-1819 1538-1819 1538-1819
ANC 2 1813-1872 1813-1872 1754-1883 1754-1883 1813-1849 1813-1849
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1539-1754
1538-1754
1538-1754
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1539-1754, 1755-1872
1538-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1873
1538-1873
1538-1873

St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1682-1754


1686-1754
ARCHIVE
1682-1754


1686-1754
FMP



1629-1812
FMP Bur



1686-1754
ANC 1 1629-1630, 1682-1812 1629-1630, 1682-1812 1629-1630, 1682-1812 1629-1630, 1682-1812 1629-1630, 1682-1812 1629-1630, 1682-1812
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


TGEN 1682-1754


1686-1754
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1682-1754, 1755-1812




FS Catalog PRs
1666-1873, 1578-1812
1666-1873, 1578-1812
1666-1873, 1578-1812
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1631
1629-1631
1629-1631

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Clement Eastcheap.png

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Antholin, Budge Row, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/141); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Dowgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/147); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Dowgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/218), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Antholin, Budge Row, Cordwainer Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Cordwainer Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1577 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/252); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Dowgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/487); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/504); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/543); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Antholin, Budge Row, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 2 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Dowgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/560); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/564); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1645 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/587); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Antholin, Budge Row, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/582); copy: FHL Film 2228705.
  • St John the Baptist, Walbrook, Cordwainer Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/584); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


1811 Census[edit | edit source]

The 1811 Census of St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook exists and is held at The British Library.[15]

Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.


Before 1858, St Antholin fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. St John the Baptist upon Walbrook fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St John the Baptist upon Walbrook residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[16] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St John the Baptist monumental inscription

Transcripts of early St Antholin with St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[17]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook churchyard.[18]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Antholin Parish the unique surname Antholin.[19]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St John the Baptist upon Walbrook
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Antholin Budge Row

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitized by Google Books.
  3. Philip Talmage, "St Antholin's church spire, Sydenham SE26," in Wikimedia Commons, http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:St_Antholin%27s_church_spire,_Sydenham_SE26_-_geograph.org.uk_-_41353.jpg, accessed 13 January 2012.
  4. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  5. County and Place Records, FreeReg, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  12. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  13. Searching Parish Records online (London) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  14. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  15. Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68.
  16. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  17. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  18. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  19. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.