St Anne Soho, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Middlesex
Middlesex Parishes
St Anne Soho
Guide to St Anne Soho, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Anne Soho, Middlesex
The tower and west end of St. Anne's Church, viewed from Wardour Street.
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westminster
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Strand
Registration District Strand
Records begin
Parish registers: 1686
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History

St. Anne, Soho is aparish, in the city and liberty of Westminster.[1]

St Anne Soho, '...was formed out of the parish of St. Martin's-in-the-Fields, [Westminster] towards the end of the seventeenth century.'[2]

Additional information:

Stannswestminster.jpg

St Anne Soho, the church of, is situated on the south of Dean Street, Soho, near the lower end towards Gerard Street; and the church yard reaches from Dean Street on the east to Princes Street on the west. This church and parish owe their origin to some well-disposed persons in the parish...who raised subscriptions and contributions for the establishing of [same]... and was separated from the overgrown parish of St Martin in the Fields by an act of parliament, passed in the year 1661, the provisions of which were however not completed till 1678, and the present church was finished in 1686, on a spot formerly called Kemp's Fields. It is dedicated to St Anne, in compliments to the Princess Anne of Denmark, afterwards Queen Anne. [The parish lies within the ecclesiastical court of] the Bishop of London... The walls of this church are of brick, with rusticated angles of Portland stone.[3]

[List of Churches for St Anne Soho, Westminster]].

St Anne's Soho [Westminster], the church of, is situated on the south of Dean Street, Soho, near the lower end towards Gerard Street; and the church yard reaches from Dean Street on the east to Princes Street on the west. This church and parish owe their origin to the same cause as the last named [see the above "St Anne's Society" in this dictionary] and was separated from the overgrown parish of St Martin in the Fields by an act of parliament, passed in the year 1661, the provisions of which were however not completed till 1678, and the present church was finished in 1686, on a spot formerly called Kemp's Fields. It is dedicated to St Anne of Denmark, afterwards Queen Anne. The advowson is in the gift of the Bishop of London...[4]

Westminster St Anne Soho, Middlesex.[5]

Additional information:

The following French Huguenot chapels were erected in this illustrious Westminster parish:

  • Ryder's Court Chapel, St. Ann's, - 1700
  • West Street Chapel, Soho – 1706
  • Monmouth House Chapel, Soho Square - 1690
  • Les Grecs Hog La. or Crown Street Soho - 1700
  • Little Chapel Street
  • LaPatente Street Chapel - 1689
  • Berwick Street Chapel - 1690

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Anne Soho parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Anne Soho Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1634-1900 Rate Books
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid
1726-1829 Land Taxes

The Westminster, Poor Law and Parish Administration collection at findmypast includes 1726-1829 - St Anne, Soho, Land Taxes


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Anne Soho Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (15+ entries)

Poor Law

The Westminster, Poor Law and Parish Administration collection at findmypast includes:

  • 1686-1843 - St Anne, Soho, Apprentices
  • 1793-1828 - St Anne, Soho, Workhouses

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013.
  2. Thornbury, Walter 'Soho', Old and New London Volume 3, (London: Cassell Petter and Galpin, 1878), 173-184. Online | here]. (Adapted. Date accessed: 31 January 2014.
  3. Elmes, James, Google Books A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs, (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Digitised by Google Books]. Adapted. Date accessed: 31 January 2014.
  4. James Elmes, Google Books A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs, (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Digitised by []. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  5. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  6. ArcherSoftware.co.uk