St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary

London St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary, London
St Ann and St Agnes
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1640; Separate registers exist for St John Zachary beginning 1693
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1665-66; 1800; Separate records exist for St John Zachary beginning 1665-66; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London and Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Westminster (Abbey)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

St Ann and St Agnes Timeline

  • 1137 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church mostly destroyed by Great Fire of London[1]
  • 1680 - church rebuilt; united with St John Zachary Parish
  • 1940 - church destroyed in London Blitz
  • 1966 - rebuilding completed, church rededicated

St John Zachary Timeline

  • 1181 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London; never rebuilt; united with St Ann and St Agnes Parish[1]

1831 description

'St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary, the church of, is on the north side of St Ann's Lane, at the northern extremity of the New Post office in St Martin's le Grand, and receives its name from being dedicated to St Ann, the mother of the Virgin Mary, and its addition from its situation as being formerly designated  St Ann in the Willows, from the number of trees of that species which grew in that neighbourhood. The foundation of this church is very ancient, and mention of it as so in 1322. It is a rectory, and the patronage was formerly in the dean and canons of the conventual church of St Martin's le Grand, until that corporation was annexed to the Abbey of Westminster, became patrons. Ont he suppression of the bishopric of Westminster by Queen Mary, she gave it to the Bishop of London and his successors, in whom it still remains, alternately, with the dean and chapeter of St Paul's [Cathedral]. The old church was destroyed by the fire of London, and the present church was erected on its site by Sir Christopher Wren in 1680, and the parish of St John Zachary united to it. The interior is 53 feet square, and 35 feet high, and is sub-divided into a smaller square in the centre by four handsome Corintian columns, which support an ornamented ceiling...'[2]

Also known as St Anne & Agnes, Aldersgate.


1848 description

St. Anne and St. Agnes, with St. John Zachary, are parishes of the City of London within the walls. The patron is the Bishop, and Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Resources

Church records

St Ann and St Agnes parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[4][5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free (some restrictions may apply)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Ann and St Agnes Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1813-1853
ANC 1 1640-1812 1640-1812 1640-1812 1640-1812 1640-1812 1640-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1774-1799, 1824-1920 1774-1799, 1824-1920 1813-1852 1813-1852
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1641-1874
1641-1754


FS Catalog PRs
1640-1780, 1640-1812, 1640-1924,
1641-1721, 1796-1938

1640-1780, 1640-1812, 1640-1924,
1641-1721, 1796-1938

1640-1780, 1640-1812, 1640-1924,
1641-1721, 1796-1938
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1812, 1665-1666
1629-1812, 1665-1666
1629-1812, 1665-1666

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1853.[11]

St John Zachary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

St John Zachary Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1665-1849
ANC 1 1693-1812 1693-1812 1693-1812 1693-1812 1693-1812 1693-1812
ANC 2 1813-1843 1813-1843 1756-1837 1756-1837 1813-1839 1813-1839
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1640-1874
1755-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1591-1895, 1796-1938
1591-1895, 1796-1938
1591-1895, 1796-1938
FS Catalog BTs
1665-1666
1665-1666
1665-1666

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records

1541 Subsidy

Christ Church Newgate Street.png

1547 Subsidy

  • St Anne and St Agnes, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/137); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St John Zachary, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/137); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St John Zachary, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St John Zachary, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St John Zachary, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/224); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Anne and St Agnes, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/224); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

1625 Subsidy

  • St Anne and St Agnes, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St John Zachary, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1641 Subsidies

  • S. John Zachary (The National Archives, Ref: E179/251/1); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.
  • S.S. Anne & Agnes (The National Archives, Ref: E179/251/1); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.

1645 Subsidy

  • St John Zachary, Cripplegate Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 5); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1667 Hearth Tax

  • St Anne and St Agnes, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St John Zachary, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St John Zachary, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists


Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[12] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Ann and St Agnes churchyard
St John Zachary churchyard

Transcripts of early St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Anne and St Agnes churchyard.[14]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St John Zachary churchyard.[14]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St John Zachary
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Anne and St Agnes

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitized by Google Books.
  3. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 November 2013.
  4. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  12. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. 14.0 14.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.