To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St Alphage London Wall, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Alphage London Wall

London St Alphage London Wall ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Alphage London Wall, London
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1613
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

"St Alphage, the church of is situated in Aldermanbury and London wall, having an entrance from each. It derives its name from St Alphage or Elphage, a noble Saxon saint, and Archbishop of Canterbury, who was murdered at Greenwich by the Danes, in the year 1013. The former church, which was a small and mean edifice, escaped the flames in 1666, but has been recently rebuilt from the designs of the younger Mr. George Dance. It has the singularity of having elliptical columns instead of circular, where, being attached to the wall in a very narrow street, great projection could not be obtained,and consequently produce a better effect of light and shade from the depth of the undercutting, than either pilasters or half columns. The living is a rectory in the patronage of the Bishop of London..."[1]

Also known as "St Alphege London Wall."

LONDON, is the metropolis of the United Kingdom, the seat of government, and the principal port of the empire, forming a city and county of itself. It contains, with some of the adjoining parishes, which may be considered as forming part of the metropolis. As well as about 280 meeting-houses for dissenters. These latter chiefly belong to Independents, Wesleyans, Baptists, and Calvinistic Methodists; about twenty of them are devoted to Roman Catholic worship.

1848 parish description:

St. Alphage is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Bishop. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Alphage London Wall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)[3][4]
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)[5]
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)[6]
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)[7][8][9]
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
St Alphage London Wall Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP



1813-1851
FMP Bur



1614-1849
ANC 1 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916 1813-1916 1754-1870 1754-1870 1813-1848 1813-1848
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1813-1874
1754-1885


FS Catalog PRs
1613-1920
1613-1920
1613-1920
FS Catalog BTs
1629-1640
1629-1640
1629-1640

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Alphage, London Wall, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Alphage, London Wall, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/220); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

St Giles without Cripplegate.png

1667 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

  • St Alphage, London Wall, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]


Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Alphage London Wall, London Genealogy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[11] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Alphage churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Alphage London Wall, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[12]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Alphege London Wall churchyard.[13]

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Alphage London Wall

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitized by Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170 Adapted. Date accessed: 12 November 2013.
  3. Greater London marriage index parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  4. Greater London Burial Index Parish Lists, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  5. Boyd’s London Burials parish list, FindMyPast.com, accessed 22 April 2019.
  6. London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  7. London, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1917, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  8. London, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1932, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  9. London, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-2003, Ancestry, accessed 22 April 2019.
  10. FamilySearch: a Guide to the British batches (City of London), ArcherSoftware.co.uk, accessed 22 April 2019.
  11. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  12. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  13. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.