St Agnes (Scillys), Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to St Agnes (Scillys), Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Agnes (Scillys), Cornwall
StAgnes Church Scilly.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scilly Islands
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Isles of Scilly
Registration District Scilly Islands
Records begin
Parish registers: 1726
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

AGNES (St.), One of the Scilly Islands, near the southern extremity of the group, separated on the NE from St. Mary's by St. Mary's Sound. It consists of two parts, St. Agnes-proper and the Gugh.[1]

Scilly Islands, island-group at the entrance of the English Channel, 25 miles SW of Lands End, 3500 ac., pop. 2320; called Scilly. The islands constitute a parish of Cornwall and are in the Western or St Ives Parliamentary Division of that county. They are about 30 miles in circumference and number 140, but only six of them are of any importance: St Mary's, Tresco, St Martins, St Agnes, Bryher, and Samson.[2]

See Isles of Scilly for more information.

St Agnes St Agnes (Scilly) is an Ancient parish and the church is dedicated to St Agnes of Rome. The first church was built in the sixteenth or seventeenth century, but it was destroyed in a gale. It was rebuilt in the eighteenth century, but was again destroyed. The current building was built by the islanders in the nineteenth century using the proceeds of the sale of a wreck, and the bell in the church was taken from that wreck. It is a Grade II listed building. In 1821 a new west gallery and two new pews in the chancel were added by Bernard S. Herris

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

St Agnes (Scillys), Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
St Agnes (Scillys), Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1677-1794, 1800-1901
1677-1794
1677-1794, 1869-1885


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wilson, John Marius. Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72.
  2. Wilson, John Marius. Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72.
  3. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.