St. Stephens Parish, King and Queen, Virginia

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  St. Stephen's Parish

History[edit | edit source]

St. Stephen's Parish has served King and Queen County, Virginia.

Apple Tree Church, also known as St. Clement's Church, served as St. Stephen's Parish's upper church in the eighteenth century.

Founded[edit | edit source]

Boundary[edit | edit source]

"An Act for dividing Saint Stephen's Parish, in the County of King and Queen" (1723) culled from Colonial Office at the National Archives in London, is published in:

  • Chamberlayne, Churchill G. "Seven Parish Acts Heretofore Unpublished," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan. 1938):106-118. FHL Book 973 H25w; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Resources[edit | edit source]

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Meade's 1861 history of St. Stephen's Parish is available online.[2]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Petitions[edit | edit source]

An early petition from St. Stephen's Parish, dated 1683, identifies many of the parishioners at that time. It has been analyzed and abstracted:

  • "A Petition of the Inhabitants and Housekeepers of St. Stephen's Parish in the County of New Kent," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 41, No. 3 (Jul., 1933), pp. 196-203. FHL Book 975.5 B2v; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Brydon, G. MacLaren. "Correction: A Petition of the Inhabitants and Housekeepers of St. Stephen's Parish in the County of New Kent," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 41, No. 4 (Oct. 1933):309. FHL Book 975.5 B2v; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Fleet, Beverley. King and Queen County. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes St. Stephens Parish Petition 1683.]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.