To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

St. Matthews Parish, South Carolina

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States Gotoarrow.png South Carolina Gotoarrow.png St. Matthew's Parish

History[edit | edit source]

Before the American Revolution, the state church of South Carolina was the Church of England (the Anglican Church, or Protestant Episcopal Church). Besides keeping parish registers, the church kept many records of a civil nature in their vestry books. The Vestry was as much a political body as a religious one. The wardens and commissioners were responsible for the roads, education, the poor and orphans, voting and collecting taxes in addition to their church duties.[1]

Founded[edit | edit source]

St. Matthew's Parish (St. Matthew's, Calhoun, SC) was created in 1768 in Orangeburgh District.

Boundary[edit | edit source]

Borders: St. Mark's, St. James Goose Creek, St. George Dorchester, St. Bartholomew's, Prince William, St. Luke's, St. Peter's, and the Georgia border at the Savannah River. For a map, see: Early parishes in South Carolina. An overlay of districts is available at Carolana.com.

Areas Served: St. Matthew's Parish served:

Modern equivalents: The original parish covered most of what are present-day Orangeburg, Barnwell County, South Carolina, Lexington, Aiken, Bamberg, Calhoun, and Allendale counties.[2][10]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Parish History[edit | edit source]

For an early history of the parish, see Chapter 16, St. Matthew's Parish, pages 332-335, in:

  • Dalcho, Frederick. An Historical Account of the Protestant Episcopal Church in South Carolina from the First Settlement of the Province, to the War of the Revolution; with Notices of the Present State of the Church in Each Parish and Some Account of the Early Civil History of Carolina, Never Before Published. Charleston: E. Thayer, 1820. FHL Film 22657; digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.

The history of the parish is also discussed in pages 2-17 of:

  • Salley, A.S. The History of Orangeburg County South Carolina: From Its First Settlement to the Close of the Revolutionary War. Orangeburg, S.C.: R. Lewis Berry, Printer, 1898. Digital version at Google Books.

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

For some births in the parish in 1770 and 1771, see:

  • "Some Records Kept by Rev. Paul Turquand of St. Matthew's Parish," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 33, No. 2 (Apr. 1932):180; digital version at JSTOR ($).

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has some of St. Matthew's Parish records on microfilm:

  • "Church records, 1799-1897", St. Matthew's Lutheran Church (Orangeburg County, South Carolina). FHL film #22745, Item 1. Includes births, christenings, confirmations, marriages, burials, list of members, history, minutes and other miscellaneous records.

South Carolina Historical Society holdings: "St. Matthew’s (Episcopal) Church. Fort Motte. Vestry Minutes, 1767-1778, 1785-1838. 2 vols. Many entries relate to the administration of the poor tax."

"References to the chapels of ease at Belville, at Campbell’s (1786), and at Totnes (1830), also to the consecrations of St. Matthew’s (1819) and Totnes chapel (1830). Copy of revised (1785) vestryman’s oath omitting anti-transubstantiation statements. Family names appearing include Felder, Fludd, Frierson, Gaillard, Goodwyn, Haskell, Heatley, Krabonski, McCord, Miles, Palmer, Platt, Richardson, Roach, Sabb, and Thomson. Vol. 2 is a reliable transcript of Vol. 1."[11]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

  • [1818] "St. Matthew's 1818 Tax List," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Summer 1973):148-150; Vol. 1, No. 4 (Fall 1973):214. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 1

Voters[edit | edit source]

  • [1811] "St. Matthew's Voters 1811," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 1, No. 4 (Fall 1973):215-216. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 1

References[edit | edit source]

  1. "The Formation of Counties in South Carolina," at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History website, accessed 21 January 2011.
  2. 2.0 2.1 "South Carolina Districts and Parishes - 1770" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Royal_Colony/sc_royal_colony_districts_parishes_1770.html (accessed 20 June 2011).
  3. "South Carolina Districts and Counties - 1785" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Early_Statehood/sc_statehood_1800_districts_counties_1785.html (accessed 20 June 2011).
  4. "South Carolina Districts and Counties - 1791" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Early_Statehood/sc_statehood_1800_districts_counties_1791.html (accessed 20 June 2011).
  5. "South Carolina Districts - 1800" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/Early_Statehood/sc_statehood_1800_districts_counties_1800.html (accessed 20 June 2011).
  6. "South Carolina Districts - 1810" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/1800s/sc_1800s_districts_1810.html (accessed 20 June 2011).
  7. "South Carolina Counties - 1880" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/1800s/sc_1800s_counties_1880.html (accessed 20 June 2011).
  8. "South Carolina Counties - 1900" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/1800s/sc_1800s_counties_1900.html (accessed 20 June 2011).
  9. "South Carolina Counties - 1910" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/1900s/sc_1900s_counties_1910.html (accessed 20 June 2011).
  10. 10.0 10.1 "South Carolina Counties - 1920" [map] in Carolana at http://www.carolana.com/SC/1900s/sc_1900s_counties_1920.html (accessed 20 June 2011).
  11. Margaretta Childs, and Isabella G. Leland, "South Carolina Episcopal Church Records," South Carolina Historical Magazine 84 (October 1983): 253-54. Digital version at JSTOR ($). WorldCat entry. FHL Book 975.7 B2s v. 84.